Skip to main content

Long read: The beauty and drama of video games and their clouds

"It's a little bit hard to work out without knowing the altitude of that dragon..."

If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Destiny 2 Warmind guide and walkthrough: Everything you need to know about DLC 2 and the Mars-set expansion

What's on offer in Destiny 2's second DLC, Warmind.

Destiny 2's Warmind is the second DLC to Bungie's space-faring sequel.

As with the first DLC, Curse of Osiris, it will introduce a new setting, story missions and a Public Event, as well as a host of new Crucible additions that are available to all players whether you're purchasing the expansion or not.

What's included in Destiny 2 Warmind?

The game's first major expansion adds the following features:

  • New story missions and quest centered around Ana Bray, Rasputin and the Clovis Bray corporation
  • New Patrol space on Mars named Hellas Basin
  • New Public Event on Mars named 'Escalation Protocol', a challenging horde mode with unique rewards
  • New Strikes
  • New weapons and armour, including Exotics as well as a "relic weapon" named The Valkyrie Javelin
  • New 'Raid Lair' content for the Leviathan Raid, named 'Spire of Stars', going live Friday, 11th May at 10am PST / 6pm UK time
  • Increased max level cap to experience level 30 and Power level 380 / 385

As well as the above, there will be quality of life changes to Destiny 2, even if you aren't purchasing the expansion, including:

  • Emote selector
  • New Crucible ranking system with Valor and Glory ranks
  • Private Matches
  • Tweaks and changes to Exotic weapons to make them feel more unique
  • Increased vault space
  • Exotic Masterworks

It should be noted all Crucible additions (maps, modes and changes) are now free to all players, regardless of whether they own DLC.

Watch on YouTube

Destiny 2 Warmind walkthrough

After popping to the Tower to receive your Prismatic Matrix welcoming gift from Tess and Crucible ranking emblems, it's time to start some missions.

The Warmind expansion plays out as follows:

Warmind Milestone

  • Ice and Shadow (Mars, 310 Power recommended)
  • Pilgrimage (Mars, 310 Power recommended, Mars Landing Zone unlocked)
  • Speak to Ana Bray in the Mars Patrol space, get a Legendary weapon and unlock Hellas Basin Adventures
  • Off-World Recovery (EDZ, 330 Power recommended)
  • Strange Terrain (Mars, requires level 28, 340 Power recommended)
  • Will of the Thousands (Mars, 340 Power recommended)
  • Speak to Zavala in the Tower, pick up Exotic armour Wormhusk Crown (Hunter), Wormgod Caress (Titan) or Verity's Brow (Warlock)

Data Recovery Milestone

  • Legacy Code (Mars, 340 Power recommended)
  • A Piece of the Past (Mars, 340 Power recommended)
  • Speak to Ana Bray in the Mars Patrol space, get Nascent Dawn and Violent Intel quest steps to unlock Override Frequency locations and the Destiny 2 Sleeper Simulant respectively

It's at this point the end game opens up, with the grind to the 385 level cap to help you tackle Heroic Strikes, Escalation Protocol and the Spire of Stars Raid Lair.

There are other things you can do on the way, too - including finding Lost Memory Fragment locations and Masterwork Catalysts.

Watch on YouTube

Destiny 2 Warmind guide: Everything else you need to know about DLC 2

Here's everything we know about the expansion in further detail:

A new world quest featuring Rasputin and Clovis Bray

The title of the DLC 2, Warmind, refers to Rasputin, the artificial intelligence players have been dealing with since the first game.

Though previously encountered in Old Russia, Rasputin's birthplace was on Mars, where players must go pay a visit, which also sees the arrival of new 'ice' Hive enemies.

DLC 2 will also introduce Ana Bray, who has ties to the Clovis Bray corporation.

A new public event, Escalation Protocol

Mars plays host to a new type of public event - named Escalation Protocol - which you can access once the story is complete.

Unlike other public events, this doesn't rely on a schedule and can be started at any time.

Essentially a horde mode, there are seven waves, each with a boss fight, and a final unique boss fight at the end. There are five of these unique boss fights, with one available a week - offering five weeks of unique content.

Expect unique rewards for completing the challenge.

The Season of the Deep is here alongside the Into the Depths quest. You can know go fishing too! Don't forget to keep an eye on the Lost Sector and King's Fall challenge rotation schedule!

Crucible to introduce ranking and prestiging

Destiny's competitive multiplayer mode will offer two ranking types. Valor is more relaxed, going up when you play matches, win or lose, though winning will see it go up faster. You'll play this on quick play and rotating playlists.

Glory rank, meanwhile, is a little more hardcore, going up when you win but down when you lose or quit a match early. There are win and loss streaks, too, meaning more risk and reward.

Each ranking has new emblems and unique rewards, such as the exclusive Redrix's Claymore weapon, with a new Desperado perk that increases the rate of fire without lowering the impact stat.

You can also prestige, too, for those players who want to continue playing and ranking up.

Private matches

The ability to play Private Matches - introduced late in the original Destiny's lifespan - will return, with many similar features.

Two new Crucible maps

There are two new Crucible maps - Solitude and Survival. These are free to all Destiny 2 players, regardless of whether they purchase the Warmind DLC or not, but only those with Warmind ownership can make use them of them in Private Matches.

Exotic weapon changes

Exotic weapons will have an overhaul to make them more unique in a variety of stats compared to Legendary weapons - so akin to how they behaved in Destiny 1, basically. There will also be some new Exotics as part of the expansion, too.

Emote wheel

Another quality of life change that has been requested since the original Destiny is being able to equip more than one emote than once. To date, player-unlocked emotes have been tied to a single button on the D-pad, but now you can swap out the default emotes for others you own instead.