If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Switch Sports online play test times, dates, how to access explained

Wii ports.

The Switch Sports online play test will be playable very soon for anyone with a Nintendo Switch Online subscription.

Essentially a beta ahead of the full launch on April 29th, the online play test allows you to play matches of Bowling, Tennis and Chambara against random players online.

Taking place over the weekend across five sessions, there should be a time for everyone to take part regardless of your time zone.

On this page:

Switch Sports Online announcement trailer

What is the Switch Sports online play test schedule? Switch Sports online play test times and dates in GMT / UK, CEST, EST and PST

The Switch Sports online play test is available across five sessions throughout a weekend.

Bear in mind this is exclusively for those with access (which is free for everyone - see the next section for how to get involved) and if you have an active Nintendo Switch Online subscription.

The Switch Sports online play test times and dates are as follows:

DateOnline test times in GMT, CEST, EST, PST
Friday, February 18th
Saturday, February 19th
Friday 18th: 22:00 - 22:45pm (EST) / 19:00 - 19:45 (PST)
Saturday 19th: 03:00 - 03:45 (UK / GMT) / 04:00 - 04:45 (CET)
Saturday, February 19th11:00 - 11:45 (UK / GMT) / 12:00 - 12:45 (CET)
06:00 - 06:45 (EST) / 3:00 - 3:45 (PST)
Saturday, February 19th19:00 - 19:45 (UK / GMT) / 20:00 - 20:45 (CET)
14:00 - 14:45 (EST) / 11:00 - 11:45 (PST)
Sunday, February 20th03:00 - 03:45 (UK / GMT) / 04:00 - 04:45 (CET)
22:00 - 22:45 (EST) / 19:00 - 19:45 (PST)
Sunday, February 20th11:00 - 11:45 (UK / GMT) / 12:00 - 12:45 (CET)
6:00 - 6:45 (EST) - 3:00 - 3:45 (PST)

Bear in mind Nintendo has said the aforementioned times are subject to change or cancellation.

Switch Sports online play test access and download links

To access the Switch Sports online play test, you first have to register via the My Nintendo website. There is a site for each available region:

Once you have logged into your account, you can redeem a code you can then enter into the eShop. Despite it going via the My Nintendo rewards site, no points are required - so provided you have an Switch Online membership, you should be good to go from there.

Note that those with a Nintendo Switch Lite cannot access the online play test - very much due to the motion sensing controls required.

Know that you can start the download now to access the online test as soon as times are available.

What's featured in the Switch Sports online play test?

The Switch Sports online play test focuses on three games - Bowling, Tennis and Chambara.

These will be played online against random players - which means you cannot play against friends also participating in the test.

Know that as well as the test times above being subject to ending early or being cancelled altogether, save data from the test doesn't transfer to the full game.

Finally, if you are playing, then "participants are forbidden from sharing information about the Online Play Test publicly, including the sharing of screenshots or video footage from the game on social media". In other words - keep details and images from the test to yourself!

About the Author

Matthew Reynolds avatar

Matthew Reynolds

Managing Editor

Matthew edits guides and other helpful things at Eurogamer.net. When not doing that, he's out and about playing Pokémon Go or continuing to amass his amiibo collection.

Comments

More On Nintendo Switch Sports

Latest Articles

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer.net Merch