If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

New Dragon Quest 10 gameplay details

Is actually called Dragon Quest 10 Online.

Wii and Wii U game Dragon Quest 10 is actually called Dragon Quest 10 Online, and features gameplay reminiscent of massively multiplayer online role-playing games.

The extent of the game's online features had been unclear. But according to Japanese magazine Weekly Shounen Jump (translated by Andriasang) players play together in an online world.

Six races are available: Ogre, Elf, Dwarf, Pukuripo, Wedi and human. Players solve a mystery involving the human world. The overarching world is called Astoldia, split into four continents: Ogleed, Eltona, Dwachakka, Pukuland, and one island chain, Wena Islands. A central area displayed in the magazine appears to be the human world.

DQ10 Online is the first game in the main Dragon Quest series developed in-house at Square Enix, with 2004's DQ8 and 2009's DQ9 both made by Level-5. It's due out next year.

There may be an online fee. A post on the official Dragon Quest website mentioned both "price" and "usage fee", although both were listed as TBA.

You're not signed in!

Create your ReedPop ID & unlock community features and much, much more!

Create account
About the Author
Wesley Yin-Poole avatar

Wesley Yin-Poole

Deputy Editorial Director

Wesley is deputy editorial director of ReedPop. He likes news, interviews, and more news. He also likes Street Fighter more than anyone can get him to shut up about it.

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Explore our store
Eurogamer.net Merch