If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Destiny 2 Witch Queen Legendary campaign rewards, level requirement estimate and modifiers

Halo there.

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen's Legendary campaign introduces the return of a Bungie favourite - a challenging story mode for you and your friends to battle through.

Though previous Destiny expansions have offered campaign missions, this time you can expect a more traditional progression, and an optional higher difficulty level to put you and your fireteam to the test.

The Legendary campaign rewards sound well worth it from the outset - provided you can stomach the Legendary level requirements and rewards thrown your way.

On this page:

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen - Weapons and Gear Trailer

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen's Legendary campaign level requirement estimate and modifiers

The Legendary campaign starts at a Power requirement of 1360 and increases to 1500 Power for the final mission.

That said, it only matters as a requirement. Each mission will have an effective max power cap, and if you are under that level, things will be more challenging.

Similar to Raid Contest mode, this means you cannot overlevel. In other words, if you are above that level it will make no difference - but if you are under, it certainly will.

In terms of difficulty and modifiers, the Legendary campaign is designed to be more challenging than a Legend Nightfall, though "easier than a solo dungeon or running a Grandmaster Nightfall", according to Bungie.

Some encounters will be different - "like swapping out an Elite for a boss or having an influx of more red bar foes" - and in general, enemies will be more difficult and more aggressive, have higher damage and stagger resistance, while shields will be stronger against unmatched types.

Destiny 2: The Witch Queen's Legendary campaign rewards

Enhanced rewards are offered per mission completed and when you have finished the entire Legendary campaign.

For completing missions at Legendary difficulty, you will receive:

  • Double chest rewards (1-3 extra per mission) containing world pool gear, XP, upgrade modules and Glimmer
    • Earning "Throne World armor and unlocks at a faster rate" - whether this is through the above chests, or in general play, is unknown.

Completing the entire Destiny 2: Witch Queen Legendary campaign gives the following rewards:

  • 1520 Power level gear set (20 above the 1500 soft cap, 30 below the 1550 Power cap)
  • Triumph required for completing the Throne World's seal / title
  • Exclusive emblem (claimed from the Triumph)
  • 8x Upgrade Modules
  • Witch Queen Exotic armour "typically reserved for PED Lost Sector drops"
  • Exclusive Bungie Rewards (TBC)

In short - beyond the Triumph and emblem and Bungie Rewards (TBC), nothing exclusive you can't get elsewhere. It is, however, a nice leg up in terms of Power - especially as everyone will start the expansion at 1350 - and it's an effective way of getting the new Exotic armour usually only found in Lost Sectors.

The Season of Plunder is here! New additions include the Sails of the Shipstealer quest, Treasure Coordinates and Map Fragments, Cryptic Quatrains and Quicksilver Storm. Meanwhile, there's the arrival of King's Fall and weapons such as Doom of Chelchis and Touch of Malice, as well as the return of Allied Demand in Iron Banner this season. Get up to speed with our levelling guide ahead of tackling the Duality dungeon, and learn how to collect Calus Bobblehead locations, Calus Automaton locations and find all Opulent Key chests. For The Witch Queen, learn how to get Exotics including Dead Messenger and Parasite.

What else do you need to know about Destiny 2: The Witch Queen's Legendary campaign?

As well as the above info on difficulty, level and rewards, here's some other things to know about the campaign before going in:

  • It's possible to play through the Legendary campaign first time through - and if you don't, you are able to replay the campaign on Classic or Legendary difficulty later.
  • Legendary difficulty broadly scales to your Fireteam, meaning solo players have a decent chance. Bungie says it isn't 1:1 however - with the example of boss health not being three times as high as it would be against a solo run - but it will still be challenging.
  • In a Fireteam, you are limited to one revive per player per Darkness zone, with a shared timer of 40 seconds before an automatic wipe.

Best of luck getting everything you need before The Witch Queen arrives!

About the Author

Matthew Reynolds avatar

Matthew Reynolds

Managing Editor

Matthew edits guides and other helpful things at Eurogamer.net. When not doing that, he's out and about playing Pokémon Go or continuing to amass his amiibo collection.


More On Destiny 2

Latest Articles

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer.net Merch