Skip to main content

Long read: The beauty and drama of video games and their clouds

"It's a little bit hard to work out without knowing the altitude of that dragon..."

If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Warner Bros. is trying to plug Mortal Kombat 11 leaks after street date is broken


Mortal Kombat 11's street date was shattered this week - and now publisher Warner Bros. is desperately trying to plug leaks.

Mortal Kombat 11's official release date is 23rd April 2019, but UK customers are already in possession of the game after online retailers delivered it early.

Gameplay videos showing significant story moments are all over YouTube, with some content creators including revelations in thumbnails and video titles.

Gameplay footage showing Frost, an unlockable character yet to be revealed by developer NetherRealm, is all over YouTube - with some blocked by Warner Bros. on copyright grounds.

There's gameplay footage of the Nintendo Switch version out there, too, which shows the expected difference in graphical quality but also appears to run at an impressive 60 frames per second.

Watch on YouTube

And dataminers are already doing their thing with the game, revealing what looks like a DLC character list.

According to the dataminers, there's reference to nine DLC characters in the Mortal Kombat 11 files. Of these, only Shang Tsung is announced.

  • Joker
  • Shang Tsung
  • Nightwolf
  • Terminator
  • Sindel
  • Spawn
  • Ash
  • Fujin
  • Sheeva

It's worth noting these datamined file names do not confirm these characters will end up as Mortal Kombat 11 DLC characters, but it's certainly food for thought. The guest characters here are Joker (who was a character in NetherRealm's previous fighting game, Injustice 2, Terminator, Spawn and Ash Williams from Evil Dead).

With three days left until Mortal Kombat 11 comes out officially, it may be prudent to watch out for spoilers if you're hoping to pick up the game and go in blind.