Long read: Who is qualified to make a world?

In search of the magic of maps.

If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Ubisoft guitar game Rocksmith finally gets UK release date

No longer blocked by local band.

Ubisoft guitar game Rocksmith will be released on PS3 and Xbox 360 in the UK on 14th September, Ubisoft has announced. A PC version will follow.

Rocksmith has already been released in North America and has scored decently - around 80 per cent - there. The game was held up here due to a trademark dispute with local band Rocksmith.

Rocksmith teaches you how to play guitar. The selling point is a cable that converts the output of any electric guitar so they can be used to play the game.

Ubisoft has teamed up with guitar maker Gibson to put together an Epiphone Les Paul Junior bundle for the game. Amazon offers the bundle for £122.

Rocksmith has more than 50 songs. Examples:

  • Blur - Song 2
  • David Bowie - Rebel Rebel
  • Eric Clapton - Run Back To Your Side
  • Franz Ferdinand - Take Me Out
  • Incubus - I Miss You
  • Interpol - Slow Hands
  • Lenny Kravitz - Are You Gonna Go My Way
  • Lynyrd Skynyrd - Sweet Home Alabama
  • Muse - Unnatural Selection
  • Nirvana - In Bloom
  • Pixies - Where Is My Mind?
  • Queens Of The Stone Age - Go With The Flow
  • Radiohead - High And Dry
  • The Rolling Stones - (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
  • The White Stripes - Icky Thump
  • Velvet Revolver - Slither
A new Rocksmith trailer.