Skip to main content

Mortal Kombat 11 gets a ranked mode tomorrow

Test your might.

Mortal Kombat 11 gets a ranked mode tomorrow, 18th June.

The Kombat League, as it's called, adds a competitive, seasonal ranked mode to NetherRealm's fantastic fighting game.

In it, you compete in ranked matches during a four-week season to progress through nine tiers, climbing from the ranks of Apprentice to Elder God.

You get exclusive in-game items for each unlocked rank (rewards are cumulative, meaning players earn all unlocked items up to the highest tier achieved in a given season, so you don't have to worry about losing out if you drop ranks). There are new daily and seasonal quests, too, which reward you with in-game items. Once a season expires, a new season starts immediately with new rewards.

Watch on YouTube

NetherRealm said there's a new optimised matchmaking system for the Kombat League to help make sure players are matched with opponents at or near their same skill level. There's a new meter giving players a quick look at their odds of winning against an opponent at the beginning of each ranked match.

There's a lot happening in the world of Mortal Kombat 11 at the moment. Early access for Shang Tsung, the first of six playable fighters included in the Kombat Pack, begins tomorrow as well. The other confirmed DLC characters are Sindel, Nightwolf and guest character Spawn. It looks like the Terminator and Ash Williams are the final two.

Read this next