Skip to main content

Halo: The Master Chief Collection includes Halo 1-4

And a Halo 5 beta key, and Halo Nightfall TV series.

Never played Halo? Microsoft and 343 are stuffing all the mainline Halo games into one box - and remastering them - for Xbox One. Introducing Halo: The Master Chief collection, due out 11th November 2014.

Included are the anniversary editions of Halo: Combat Evolved and Halo 2, as well as Halo 3 and Halo 4. Every game runs at 60fps. And, as Microsoft noted, "even the series' most recent releases - Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary and Halo 4 - will benefit from the jump to Xbox One, sporting much higher fidelity, better shadowing, reflection, and lighting effects, as well as an overall level of detail that trumps the previous console generation".

The Master Chief Collection has one single unified interface and everything unlocked, all on one disc. There are new cinematics the lead into Halo 5, and every single multiplayer map ever released for any Halo game is included. That's more than 100 multiplayer maps and all on dedicated servers in 1080p, apparently.

The developer noted that this collection will include Halo 2 multiplayer "exactly as it shipped 10 years ago", and will feature six remastered maps.

Also included with The Master Chief Collection are a beta key for the Halo 5 beta, which takes place this December, and the Halo: Nightfall TV series announced last year - a collaboration with Ridley Scott and director Sergio Mimica-Gezzan.

And to top it all off: 4000 Gamescore for The Master Chief Collection.

Microsoft showed a cinematic trailer for both the Halo 5 story - someone is tracking Master Chief - and the Halo 5 beta, as well as footage from the remastered Halo 2. I'll put all the videos in this story.

Watch on YouTube
Watch on YouTube
Watch on YouTube

Read this next