If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Download Minecraft: Story Mode now before it's delisted later this month

"We'd recommend checking you have all the episodes downloaded!"

Minecraft: Story Mode - A Telltale Games Series, Season 1 and 2 are being delisted at the end of the month, which means even if you've legitimately purchased the episodic game, you won't be able to download - or re-download - any missing chapters after 25th June 2019.

"On behalf of the publisher, Minecraft: Story Mode - A Telltale Games Series, Season 1 and 2 will no longer be supported on June 25th, 2019," a statement on the official Minecraft website said (thanks, GameInformer). "If you have purchased these seasons, please download all remaining episodes prior to the service being discontinued in June."

The post goes on to confirm that this affects all versions of Minecraft: Story Mode across all platforms: Microsoft Windows, macOS, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, PlayStation Vita, Wii U, Nintendo Switch, Xbox 360, Xbox One, Android, and/or iOS. "We'd recommend checking you have all the episodes downloaded!", Minecraft adds.

Many of Telltale's older series were removed from sale last year when the company went into liquidation. Steam lost Tales of Monkey Island, Jurassic Park: The Game and Back to the Future: The Game, while Tales from the Borderlands, The Wolf Among Us, Batman and more were removed from sale on GOG last week. "Sadly, we need to inform you that, due to company's closure, all the remaining Telltale titles will be delisted from our catalogue on Monday 27th, 10am UTC," GOG said at the time via an official statement.

2K Games subsequently confirmed to Eurogamer that it was working to get Tales from the Borderlands back on sale as soon as possible.

Telltale Games' closure last autumn came as a shock to both fans and staff at the company - although The Walking Dead IP owner Skybound games pulled together a crew of Telltale alumni to finish the final season of The Walking Dead.

Will you support Eurogamer?

We want to make Eurogamer better, and that means better for our readers - not for algorithms. You can help! Become a supporter of Eurogamer and you can view the site completely ad-free, as well as gaining exclusive access to articles, podcasts and conversations that will bring you closer to the team, the stories, and the games we all love. Subscriptions start at £3.99 / $4.99 per month.

About the Author

Vikki Blake avatar

Vikki Blake


When​ ​her friends​ ​were falling in love with soap stars, Vikki was falling in love with​ ​video games. She's a survival horror survivalist​ ​with a penchant for​ ​Yorkshire Tea, men dressed up as doctors and sweary words. She struggles to juggle a fair-to-middling Destiny/Halo addiction​ ​and her kill/death ratio is terrible.


More News

Latest Articles

Supporters Only

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer.net Merch