Skip to main content

Xbox Game Pass gets four Star Wars games

It's true. All of it.

Xbox Game Pass just got four Star Wars games: Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic, Lego Star Wars: The Complete Saga, Star Wars: The Force Unleashed and Star Wars: The Force Unleashed 2.

There's a lot to love in this collection of Star Wars titles, but my favourite has to be Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic. BioWare's awesome role-playing game launched on the original Xbox, where I first played it, back in 2003 and features an awesome story as well as some brilliant characters. (BioWare had a really cool idea for KOTOR 2, by the way.)

Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic screenshot
HK-47 is the best Star Wars robot ever. There, I said it.

But Star Wars The Force Unleashed is well worth a shot, too. LucasArts' action game introduced a new protagonist called Starkiller, who was supposedly Darth Vader's secret apprentice (this was all Star Wars canon before Disney stuck its oar in). Starkiller was ridiculously overpowered, which meant you could chuck scores of Stormtroopers about as if they were puppets on a string (the game used NaturalMotion's Euphoria tech, which Grand Theft Auto 4 also used, for its AI animation).

Starkiller was misunderstood.

Xbox Game Pass, for the uninitiated, is Microsoft's Netflix-style £7.99-a-amonth subscription service for video games. It includes Microsoft Studios games such as Sea of Thieves and State of Decay 2, as well as a raft of third-party titles.

Read this next