If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Gamescom is getting its own announcement show

Hosted by Geoff Keighley.

This year's Gamescom will open with an announcement-filled livestream featuring reveals from "major game publishers". The broadcast will be called Gamescom: Opening Night Live, and it'll be hosted by Geoff Keighley.

You'll be able to watch on Monday 19th August at 7pm UK time (that's 2pm Eastern or 11am Pacific).

Keighley, of course, is the host and producer of the annual Game Awards in December. He also holds court in his E3 Coliseum throughout that trade show every June.

Gamescom has previously held an opening address with some minor announcements - but its clear this represents a notable step up.

Some publishers have distanced themselves from E3 in previous years and, in 2019, both EA and PlayStation have said they will not hold their standard press conferences there. Could announcements be held back for Gamescom instead?

Become a Eurogamer subscriber and get your first month for £1

Get your first month for £1 (normally £3.99) when you buy a Standard Eurogamer subscription. Enjoy ad-free browsing, merch discounts, our monthly letter from the editor, and show your support with a supporter-exclusive comment flair!

About the Author

Tom Phillips avatar

Tom Phillips

Deputy Editor

Tom is Eurogamer's deputy editor. He writes lots of news, some of the puns and makes sure we put the accent on Pokémon.

Comments

More News

Latest Articles

Supporters Only

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Explore our store
Eurogamer.net Merch