If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

World of Warcraft's Shadowlands expansion gets an October release date

And a new animated short to set the mood.

Shadowlands, the latest expansion for World of Warcraft, is launching on 27th October.

The expansion's big new addition is the introduction of the titular Shadowlands, described as the "resting place for every mortal soul - virtuous or vile - that has ever lived". In more practical terms, that means five new zones for World of Warcraft players to explore: Ardenweald, Maldraxxus, Revendreth, The Maw, and Bastion, home of angelic soul guides the Kyrians.

The latter, and its denizens, gets an elongated airing in the first of four animated shorts, which debuted during tonight's Gamescom live showcase. And, in case you missed it, here it is now:

Elsewhere, Shadowlands brings a new player hub in the form of Oribos the Eternal City (situated slap bang in the middle of it all), plus a new Covenants feature, which adds four area-specific, faction-like covenants, each with their own campaign and gear. It also ushers in Torghast, Tower of the Damned, described as an endlessly re-playable, ever-changing dungeon - and some of the above can be found in Blizzard's release date trailer, should that appeal.

You can learn more about Shadowlands over on the official website, which should keep you busy for at least a small fraction of the time until the expansion arrives on 27th October.

Topics in this article

Follow topics and we'll email you when we publish something new about them.  Manage your notification settings .

About the Author
Matt Wales avatar

Matt Wales

News Reporter

Matt Wales is a writer and gambolling summer child who won't even pretend to live a busily impressive life of dynamic go-getting for the purposes of this bio. He is the sole and founding member of the Birdo for President of Everything Society.

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Explore our store
Eurogamer.net Merch