If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Sega Ages' Sonic, Phantasy Star, Alex Kidd headed to Nintendo Switch

Miracle world.

Nintendo Switch will host a range of Sega arcade classics via the company's rebooted Sega Ages brand, starting with Sonic the Hedgehog, Phantasy Star, Alex Kidd in Miracle World and more.

Europe, North America and Japan will get the first batch of Sega Ages games starting this summer. Also included in the range's first list will be Thunder Force 4 and Gain Ground.

Development is being handled by M2, which previously gave fresh life to Sega classics for 3DS - via the Sega 3D Classics series.

Sega says it hopes the range will be the "most faithful ports of Sega Master System, Mega Drive and arcade games for the current generation".

How much each game will cost has not yet been announced.

The announcement comes just a couple of days after the reveal of Sega's own Mega Drive mini console, which will launch worldwide later this year.

Topics in this article

Follow topics and we'll email you when we publish something new about them.  Manage your notification settings.

About the Author
Tom Phillips avatar

Tom Phillips


Tom is Eurogamer's Editor-in-Chief. He writes lots of news, some of the puns and makes sure we put the accent on Pokémon.

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Explore our store
Eurogamer.net Merch