If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

No romance in Dragon Age expansion

Plus: Areas! Characters! Pictures!

BioWare's new Dragon Age: Awakening website has gone live and revealed many new areas, characters and creatures arriving in the March-bound expansion.

Among the discoveries are the haunted Blackmarsh, dwarven fortress Kal'Hirol, bastion against Orlesian invasion Vigil's Keep and the once tranquil but now troubled Wending Woods.

Key new creatures include Queen of the Blackmarsh - a giant, spectral dragon - and The Children, grinning worm creatures (on spindly legs) that devour their fleshy prey.

Important new characters are Velanna, a human-hating Dalish elf, and Anders, a trouble-making mage that doesn't take kindly to orders. Returning companions include Wynne, Loghain and Alistair.

The new Dragon Age: Awakening website has a detailed FAQ to answer your questions with, too. From this we know that there will be six new specialisation, 24 new spells and 32 new talents. Interestingly, there will be no romantic options in DA: Awakening, and the romances uncovered through Origins will be on hold while you tackle a new threat.

System specs for the expansion are the same as for Dragon Age: Origins, and you'll be able to import your saved character from that game should you wish - all items and loot will travel with your hero, apart from promotional DLC loot.

Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening will only be available to download on PS3 and Xbox 360 here in Europe. The PC version will be available on Steam and other digital distribution channels.

Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening will be released on 16th March.

Check into our Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening gallery for a pile of new screenshots.

Will you support Eurogamer?

We want to make Eurogamer better, and that means better for our readers - not for algorithms. You can help! Become a supporter of Eurogamer and you can view the site completely ad-free, as well as gaining exclusive access to articles, podcasts and conversations that will bring you closer to the team, the stories, and the games we all love. Subscriptions start at £3.99 / $4.99 per month.

About the Author

Robert Purchese avatar

Robert Purchese

Senior Staff Writer

Bertie is senior staff writer and Eurogamer's Poland-and-dragons correspondent. He's part of the furniture here, a friendly chair, and reports on all kinds of things, the stranger the better.


More News

Latest Articles

Supporters Only

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer.net Merch