If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

New official Metal Gear Solid website explains series plot

Interactive timeline lays out universe.

Konami has launched a new Metal Gear Solid website that attempts to explain the series' complicated plot.

The HTML 5-powered interactive game universe lays out the series' story with an interactive timeline and media player module. You can explore the MGS universe via navigational waypoints.

You can share your own MGS content and memories, too.

The timeline is described as an interactive aggregation of the series' most pivotal events, characters and storylines spanning over 200 years.

The Player Timeline lets you interact with Metal Gear creator Hideo Kojima's personal memories and insights, and submit your own photos and videos.

Metal Gear Solid released for the PlayStation in 1998. Its success spawned multiple sequels. Metal Gear Solid 2 launched on PlayStation 2 in 2001 and sold over seven million copies worldwide. Prequel Metal Gear Solid 3 launched in 2004 and sold 3.96 million copies. Metal Gear Solid 4 launched on PS3 in 2008, and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker launched on PlayStation Portable in 2010.

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance, created by Platinum Games and due out next year, is not considered a part of the MGS series.

You're not signed in!

Create your ReedPop ID & unlock community features and much, much more!

Create account
About the Author
Wesley Yin-Poole avatar

Wesley Yin-Poole

Deputy Editorial Director

Wesley is deputy editorial director of ReedPop. He likes news, interviews, and more news. He also likes Street Fighter more than anyone can get him to shut up about it.

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Explore our store
Eurogamer.net Merch