If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Prestigious AIAS Game of the Year award goes to Dragon Age: Inquisition

But Shadow of Mordor the star of the night.

Dragon Age: Inquisition won big last night, crowned AIAS Game of the Year (and best role-playing game) at the 18th annual D.I.C.E. Awards.

BioWare's big new RPG beat Destiny, Hearthstone, Shadow of Mordor and Far Cry 4 to the honour.

But Shadow of Mordor was the real star of the night, scooping eight of the nine awards it was nominated for. Monolith's game finished as one our Games of 2014, writer Simon Parkin praising the happy accidents and unpredictability the unique nemesis system brought.

Destiny wasn't snubbed and bagged four awards, and Hearthstone ended the night with two. The Super Smash Bros. series got nods on both 3DS and Wii U, and the indie game prize went to Transistor.

The D.I.C.E. Awards are voted on by video game industry peers.

The games and their awards:

  • Dragon Age: Inquisition (Game of the Year, RPG/MMO)
  • Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor (Adventure Game, Game Direction, Game Design, Story, Innovation, Character - Talion, Animation, Technical)
  • Destiny (Action Game, Online Gameplay, Music, Sound)
  • Hearthstone (Strategy/Simulation Game, Mobile Game)
  • LittleBigPlanet 3 (Family Game)
  • Super Smash Bros. Wii U (Fighting Game)
  • Super Smash Bros. 3DS (Handheld Game)
  • Mario Kart 8 (Racing Game)
  • FIFA 15 (Sports Game)
  • Transistor (Sprite Award)
  • Monument Valley (Art Direction)
About the Author
Robert Purchese avatar

Robert Purchese

Associate Editor

Bertie is a synonym for Eurogamer. Writes, podcasts, looks after the Supporter Programme. Talks a lot.

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Explore our store
Eurogamer.net Merch