If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Final fantasy 14's Shadowbringers expansion lets you be a Dancer

Or are we human?

Square Enix has lifted the lid on Final Fantasy 14's new expansion Shadowbringers.

The expansion is set in the First World and the realm of Norvrandt, and marks the first time players will become Warriors of Darkness.

The headline addition is the new job, Dancer. Here's the official blurb:

"This ranged attacker not only unleashes powerful attacks using throwing weapons, but also performs dances to execute abilities and provide beneficial effects to their party."

There's a new player race, too, called Hrothgar:

"The Hrothgar player race compliments the recently announced Viera as the second new playable race in Shadowbringers. The Hrothgar and Viera will both have unique, customisable features specific to their races."

There are a couple of new player cities located in Norvrandt. The Crystarium is a player hub, while the Eulmore is "an affluent city ruled by the elite will play a key role in the Shadowbringers main storyline". Videos previewing both locations are below.

There's a new raid, too, called Eden, which houses a new character designed by Kingdom Hearts director and Final Fantasy veteran Tetsuya Nomura.

Square Enix says Final Fantasy 14 has more than 14 million players globally, so it's no surprise to see the company release new content for the MMO. Shadowbringers comes out 2nd July 2019. Patch 4.56, which adds the finish to the Stormblood main storyline, comes out 26th March.

Will you support Eurogamer?

We want to make Eurogamer better, and that means better for our readers - not for algorithms. You can help! Become a supporter of Eurogamer and you can view the site completely ad-free, as well as gaining exclusive access to articles, podcasts and conversations that will bring you closer to the team, the stories, and the games we all love. Subscriptions start at £3.99 / $4.99 per month.

About the Author

Wesley Yin-Poole avatar

Wesley Yin-Poole

Deputy Editorial Director

Wesley is deputy editorial director of ReedPop. He likes news, interviews, and more news. He also likes Street Fighter more than anyone can get him to shut up about it.


More News

Latest Articles

Supporters Only

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer.net Merch