Skip to main content
If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Civilization 6 is getting a new season pass

One more turn.

Three-and-a-half years after it came out, Civilization 6 is getting a new season pass.

The New Frontier season pass adds eight new civilisations, nine new leaders and six new game modes to Firaxis' strategy game.

The content hits the game in six downloadable packs delivered on a bimonthly basis starting 21st May 2020 and ending March 2021.

The first DLC is the Maya & Gran Colombia Pack, which adds leaders from each civilisation (the Maya is a returning civ, whereas Gran Colombia has never been in a Civ game before), a new Apocalypse game mode, new City-States, resources and natural wonders.

Watch on YouTube

The Frontier Pass costs $40 across PC, Mac, Linux, PlayStation 4, Xbox One and Nintendo Switch. Or, you can buy each DLC pack standalone. But if you get the season pass you get the Teddy Roosevelt and Catherine De Medici Persona packs. Each Persona Pack contains a brand-new take on its leader, with a new leader model and background, new gameplay bonuses and an updated agenda that reflects the changes to the leader's personality. For example, "Rough Rider Teddy" excels at keeping the peace on his home continent, while "Magnificence Catherine" can use Luxuries to overwhelm the world with Culture and Tourism. The Persona Packs come out with the second DLC pack, which adds the Ethiopia civilisation, in July. Here's the roadmap:

Meanwhile, Firaxis said Civilization 6 is also getting free updates in between the DLC packs that add new maps, scenarios, balance updates and more.

Read this next