If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Aardvark Records supplying songs to Audiosurf

Yahel, Zetan Spore, Eric M and friends.

British music label Aardvark Records is set to supply songs to PC rhythm game Audiosurf.

Aardvark will begin by delivering 160 songs from the likes of Yahel, Zetan Spore, Jeff Alford, Eric M and Little Spitfire. (Anyone?)

Audiosurf works by chomping down on MP3s and other music files to create rollercoaster-style tracks suspended in the sky, which you then ride along in your ship vacuuming up icons to try and create single-colour groups. It's a bit like Puyo Puyo on a travelator.

The game doesn't actually need licensed songs to function - in fact, you can plug any song you like into it - but by partnering with Audiosurf's developer, Aardvark gets branding for its artists, links to website, promotional artwork and so on built into the game, which is presumably a no-brainer.

"It was a no-brainer," according to Aardvark record director Alex di Savoia. "The appeal of the platform was that self-evident. Audiosurf has to be one of the most addictive games I've come across in a long time."

"I've played the game using everything I could throw at it: Bjork, Tiesto, Frank Sinatra, Nirvana, Smashing Pumpkins, Earth Wind and Fire and our own Zetan Spore and Yahel," he added. We're sure he has receipts for everything.

For more on Audiosurf, check out our Audiosurf review.

You're not signed in!

Create your ReedPop ID & unlock community features and much, much more!

Create account
Tagged With
About the Author
Tom Bramwell avatar

Tom Bramwell


Tom worked at Eurogamer from early 2000 to late 2014, including seven years as Editor-in-Chief.

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Explore our store
Eurogamer.net Merch