If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Free Xbox Live screening of Minecraft documentary on Saturday for Gold members

Mojangle bells.

Remember the flashy-pants Kickstarted Minecraft documentary that followed Notch for a year as he founded Mojang and meteorically shot to fame in 2011? It's done, it's finished and there's a free screening on Xbox Live this weekend.

European Gold members can watch at 7pm GMT / 8pm CET on Saturday, 22nd December. US Gold members can watch at 5pm PST / 8pm EST the same day.

The documentary will then be available on Sunday to everyone (who wants to pay, presumably).

Minecraft: The Story of Mojang, made by 2 Player Productions, is a feature-length documentary complimented by interviews with Peter Molyneux and Tim Schafer and the creators of Penny Arcade, among others.

It claims to be a time capsule for a game that has, well, become a cultural landmark for independent video games.

Will you support Eurogamer?

We want to make Eurogamer better, and that means better for our readers - not for algorithms. You can help! Become a supporter of Eurogamer and you can view the site completely ad-free, as well as gaining exclusive access to articles, podcasts and conversations that will bring you closer to the team, the stories, and the games we all love. Subscriptions start at £3.99 / $4.99 per month.

About the Author

Robert Purchese avatar

Robert Purchese

Senior Staff Writer

Bertie is senior staff writer and Eurogamer's Poland-and-dragons correspondent. He's part of the furniture here, a friendly chair, and reports on all kinds of things, the stranger the better.

Comments

More News

Latest Articles

Supporters Only

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer.net Merch