If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Atari signs up Namco X360 pair

Ace Combat and Eternal Sonata.

Atari has stepped up to publish Xbox 360 titles Ace Combat 6: Fires of Liberation and Eternal Sonata. The latter's also known as "Trusty Bell", and both are the developmental output of good old Namco Bandai.

The publisher expects both games to arrive in PAL territories in the autumn.

Ace Combat 6 introduces online multiplay to the flight combat series for the first time, with 16 players supported for now (Namco wants more), co-operative options and leaderboards. A dynamic mission system governs the single-player game, allowing you to influence the outcome of an ongoing war in the Anean Continent with your aerial acrobatics. You can check out shots in our Ace Combat 6: Fires of Liberation screenshot gallery.

Eternal Sonata is quite different. It's called "Trusty Bell: Chopin's Dream" in Japan, and as that name suggests, somewhat ludicrously, it's focused on the music of Frederic Chopin. Apparently three hours before death, Chopin entered a dream world and went on a magical adventure. "Mental" in quite a lot of senses. Well, two. Anyway, you can read a more interesting account of its progress in our Eternal Sonata first impressions from last year's Tokyo Game Show.

You're not signed in!

Create your ReedPop ID & unlock community features and much, much more!

Create account
About the Author
Tom Bramwell avatar

Tom Bramwell


Tom worked at Eurogamer from early 2000 to late 2014, including seven years as Editor-in-Chief.

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Explore our store
Eurogamer.net Merch