Fortnite live event will premiere Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker scene

At Risky Reels next weekend.

You'll be able to watch a scene from the upcoming Star Wars Episode 9: The Rise of Skywalker within Fortnite next weekend.

An exclusive glimpse at the upcoming blockbuster will be shown on the big screen within Fortnite's own Risky Reels drive-in theatre.

In-game posters advertising the special event state "Doors open" at 1.30pm Eastern (that's 6.30pm UK time) next Saturday, 14th December. The show itself will start at 2pm EST (7pm UK). Director JJ Abrams also looks set to make a brief appearance.

1
I just found this poster advertising the event at Retail Row.

While bizarre, this is far from the first tie-in between Fortnite and a Disney-owned movie. The old island's Risky Reels played host to a brief clip of Wreck-It Ralph to promote the launch of Ralph Breaks the Internet earlier this year, while Fortnite itself popped up on-screen in Avengers: Endgame.

Earlier this month, Fortnite celebrated the release of Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order with the launch of a Stormtrooper skin and the arrival of a Star Destroyer over the island.

And for those wondering, like Fortnite's in-game live Marshmello concert, it's very likely the event itself will ban all combat - so you can enjoy your Star Wars without wondering who shot first.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (12)

About the author

Tom Phillips

Tom Phillips

News Editor

Tom is Eurogamer's news editor. He writes lots of news, some of the puns and all the stealth Destiny articles.

Related

You may also enjoy...

Comments (12)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments
Order
Threading