If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

WGA announces game writing noms

Suppose it's a reason to get out of bed.

The Writer's Guild of America has announced the nominations for its inaugural videogame writing award.

There won't actually be an award ceremony because of the, er, writer's strike, but the winner will be announced on 9th February.

However, a quick glance at the nominations suggest that the writers for games like Portal and BioShock haven't been or applied to become members of the WGA's New Media Caucus, which Variety explains is necessary to receive a nomination.

Either that or the people doing the voting are missing a few screws as well as a few residuals.

Anyway, congratulations nonetheless to Christopher Mitchell (Crash of the Titans), Dave Ellis and Adam Cogan (Dead Head Fred), Matt Selman, Tim Long, Matt Warburton and Jeff Poliquin (The Simpsons Game), Artur Gansyniec, Sebastian Stepien, Marcin Blancha, Sande Chen and Anne Toole (The Witcher) and to Christofer Emgard, Larry Bond and Ed Zuckerman (World in Conflict). It's not like we didn't like your work - we certainly did!

Still, we'd be interested to know which games released between 1st December 2006 and 30th November 2007 you would have put forward as the best-written. Tell us, Eurogamers, and we'll mention it when the winners are announced.

You're not signed in!

Create your ReedPop ID & unlock community features and much, much more!

Create account
Topics in this article

Follow topics and we'll email you when we publish something new about them.  Manage your notification settings .

About the Author
Tom Bramwell avatar

Tom Bramwell


Tom worked at Eurogamer from early 2000 to late 2014, including seven years as Editor-in-Chief.

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Explore our store
Eurogamer.net Merch