If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Sony: Vita intended to be played by only one user

Hardware reset required to switch accounts.

The PlayStation Vita is limited to one PlayStation Network account per unit, Sony has clarified.

The Japanese company had previously said switching memory cards would allow you to use multiple PSN accounts on the same Vita unit.

But this is incorrect, Sony told Wired. To use a new PSN account you have to reset the hardware.

"[The] PSN account is tied to the hardware and the memory card, not just the card," Sony said, "which means that if a second person is using your Vita, it's not just a case of switching out memory cards, it's clearing out all of your saved data on the Vita itself when you do the factory reset.

"In other words, PlayStation Vita is intended to be played by only one user."

You're not signed in!

Create your ReedPop ID & unlock community features and much, much more!

Create account
About the Author
Wesley Yin-Poole avatar

Wesley Yin-Poole

Deputy Editorial Director

Wesley is deputy editorial director of ReedPop. He likes news, interviews, and more news. He also likes Street Fighter more than anyone can get him to shut up about it.

Comments
Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Explore our store
Eurogamer.net Merch