Watch PAX East Insider now!

Exclusive interviews, gameplay and more direct from the Boston show floor, with Outside Xbox

Watch on YouTube
If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Karaoke Stage's European break

Sing and dance from March.

SingStar's monopoly on PS2 karaoke could be under threat - after Konami announced Karaoke Stage 2 for PS2, due out in March 2006.

In a way, the situation's the opposite of that in the States, where Konami's Karaoke Revolution series is followed to market by Sony Europe's SingStar exports. Karaoke Stage 2 is based on Karaoke Revolution Party - the fourth game in the series - although it won't be released on Xbox and Cube in Europe as it will be overseas.

Whether we're to become slaves of a console karaoke duopoly rather depends on public interest of course, but Karaoke Revolution's mightily popular over yon pond, despite using songs performed by in-house musicians rather than the original recordings in the same manner as SingStar.

There are plenty of similarities though - Karaoke Stage 2 will offer solo as well as duet and competitive performances to people with more than one microphone, and rates performances based on pitch, holding a note and timing.

The performance rating plays a big part in the single-player mode, which is similar to the Career effort that appeared in the first SingStar - allowing you to pick a character and then pursue a singing career through small venues onto larger arenas, judged on the fly by a crowd that grows in size and noise when you hit "Good" notes and slinks away when things get "Poor".

Karaoke Stage 2 also features a Sing and Dance mode - a first for the KR series, and obviously a first for us KS debutants - which allows players to plug in the dance mat from Konami's Dancing Stage series and perform predetermined dance routines, and there will be other mini-games built around the player's song range.

Like SingStar, KS2 also supports Sony's EyeToy camera - not for video recording, though, rather for creating 3D models of the player's head for use in-game.

We look forward to getting our mouths round and in it next March. Here's the full track listing:

  • (I've Had) The Time of My Life
  • (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman
  • Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing
  • Ain't Too Proud To Beg
  • Always
  • American Woman
  • Brick House
  • Call Me
  • Crazy
  • Crazy in Love
  • Do You Really Want to Hurt Me
  • Drive
  • Dust In the Wind
  • Endless Love
  • Every Little Thing She Does is Magic
  • Everybody Wants to Rule the World
  • Everywhere
  • Fame
  • Fly
  • For You I Will
  • Headstrong
  • Here I Go Again
  • I Don't Wanna Be
  • I Left My Heart in San Francisco
  • I Love Rock and Roll
  • I Will Always Love You
  • If You Could Only See
  • I'll Be
  • Material Girl
  • Me and Bobby McGee
  • Pain
  • Pieces of Me
  • Play That Funky Music
  • Start Me Up
  • Superstition
  • Sweet Caroline
  • Take On Me
  • Taking Care of Business
  • That's Amore
  • The Game of Love
  • The Greatest Love of All
  • Time After Time
  • Truth Is
  • Turn The Beat Around
  • Unforgettable
  • Uptown Girl
  • Waiting For A Girl Like You
  • What I Like About You
  • Who Can It Be Now?
  • You're My Best Friend

You're not signed in!

Create your ReedPop ID & unlock community features and much, much more!

Create account
Tagged With
About the Author
Tom Bramwell avatar

Tom Bramwell


Tom worked at Eurogamer from early 2000 to late 2014, including seven years as Editor-in-Chief.

Comments logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Explore our store Merch