If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Rainbow Six: Siege's first new map lands today

New operators and new map land on all platforms for all players.

Rainbow Six: Siege's first big update has landed across Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and PC, with a new map and two new operators now part of Ubisoft's multiplayer-focussed shooter.

All the content - which launches under the umbrella name of Operation Black Ice - is available for free to all Rainbow Six: Siege players, although those without a season pass will have to wait until February 9th for the new operators where they'll have to purchase them using Siege's in-game currency or R6 credits. Those with the season pass, however, have instant access to the new operators for free.

The new map is set on a crashed yacht, while the two new operators - Frost and Buck - are from the elite Canadian forces. Three more similar updates are planned for Rainbow Six: Siege before the end of the year.

Will you support Eurogamer?

We want to make Eurogamer better, and that means better for our readers - not for algorithms. You can help! Become a supporter of Eurogamer and you can view the site completely ad-free, as well as gaining exclusive access to articles, podcasts and conversations that will bring you closer to the team, the stories, and the games we all love. Subscriptions start at £3.99 / $4.99 per month.

About the Author

Martin Robinson avatar

Martin Robinson


Martin is Eurogamer's editor-in-chief. He has a Gradius 2 arcade board and likes to play racing games with special boots and gloves on.


More News

Latest Articles

Supporters Only

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer.net Merch