The next Dragon Quest title will be heading to Europe on September 12th, Square-Enix has confirmed. That's four days before the US, import fans.

Released on Nintendo DS, Dragon Quest: The Chapters of the Chosen is the first in the 'Zenithia' trilogy, with Dragon Quest: The Hand of the Heavenly Bride and Dragon Quest: The Realms of Reverie to follow.

Never before released in Europe, The Chapters of the Chosen boasts character design by "world-famous" manga artist Akira Toriyama, and a "memorable" score from "renowned composer" Koichi Sugiyama.

Originally released as Dragon Quest IV for the NES back in February 1990 (and Dragon Warrior IV in North America in 1992), the DS remake has been spiffed up with 3D graphics, while "retaining the classic look and feel of the original". Presumably to not confuse our delicate European minds, the 'IV' has been dropped from the title for its release over here.

Told through multiple perspectives, this chapter-driven RPG features a typically 'epic' tale where a band of unrelated individuals eventually cross paths and team up to save the world. Like Heroes, then.

Check back soon for our full review, or head over to the gamepage.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (5)

About the author

Kristan Reed

Kristan Reed


Kristan is a former editor of Eurogamer, dad, Stone Roses bore and Norwich City supporter who sometimes mutters optimistically about Team Silent getting back together.

More articles by Kristan Reed

Comments (5)

Hide low-scoring comments