Sony: Vita intended to be played by only one user

Hardware reset required to switch accounts.

The PlayStation Vita is limited to one PlayStation Network account per unit, Sony has clarified.

The Japanese company had previously said switching memory cards would allow you to use multiple PSN accounts on the same Vita unit.

But this is incorrect, Sony told Wired. To use a new PSN account you have to reset the hardware.

"[The] PSN account is tied to the hardware and the memory card, not just the card," Sony said, "which means that if a second person is using your Vita, it's not just a case of switching out memory cards, it's clearing out all of your saved data on the Vita itself when you do the factory reset.

"In other words, PlayStation Vita is intended to be played by only one user."

PlayStation Vita software line-up video

Comments (58)

Comments for this article are now closed, but please feel free to continue chatting on the forum!