id Software has announced the first public demonstrations of Rage and Brink will take place at QuakeCon 2009 later this week.

The event begins Thursday 13th August, which is when all eyes will be on the id Software and John Carmack keynotes that run from 3.30pm CDT (8.30pm BST). Friday's speech by Bethesda bigwig Todd Howard - 3pm CDT (8pm BST) - should also pull in the crowds.

The Brink live demonstration will be lead by Splash Damage boss Paul Wedgwood on Friday at 1pm CDT (6pm BST). Then, on Saturday, creative director Tim Willits and lead designer Matt Hooper will walk us through Rage from 2.30pm CDT (7.30pm BST).

id Software has kept post-apocalyptic shooter/racer hybrid Rage under wraps for a while, although a pre-QuakeCon Game Informer preview filled plenty of cracks.

Splash Damage's class-based co-operative online shooter Brink has been equally elusive. We did, however, manage to clap eyes on the game after its E3 reveal earlier this year.

A full QuakeCon 2009 schedule can be found on the event website.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (13)

Games in this article

About the author

Robert Purchese

Robert Purchese

Senior Staff Writer

Bertie is senior staff writer and Eurogamer's Poland-and-dragons correspondent. He's part of the furniture here, a friendly chair, and reports on all kinds of things, the stranger the better.

More articles by Robert Purchese