Aardvark Records supplying songs to Audiosurf

Yahel, Zetan Spore, Eric M and friends.

British music label Aardvark Records is set to supply songs to PC rhythm game Audiosurf.

Aardvark will begin by delivering 160 songs from the likes of Yahel, Zetan Spore, Jeff Alford, Eric M and Little Spitfire. (Anyone?)

Audiosurf works by chomping down on MP3s and other music files to create rollercoaster-style tracks suspended in the sky, which you then ride along in your ship vacuuming up icons to try and create single-colour groups. It's a bit like Puyo Puyo on a travelator.

The game doesn't actually need licensed songs to function - in fact, you can plug any song you like into it - but by partnering with Audiosurf's developer, Aardvark gets branding for its artists, links to website, promotional artwork and so on built into the game, which is presumably a no-brainer.

"It was a no-brainer," according to Aardvark record director Alex di Savoia. "The appeal of the platform was that self-evident. Audiosurf has to be one of the most addictive games I've come across in a long time."

"I've played the game using everything I could throw at it: Bjork, Tiesto, Frank Sinatra, Nirvana, Smashing Pumpkins, Earth Wind and Fire and our own Zetan Spore and Yahel," he added. We're sure he has receipts for everything.

For more on Audiosurf, check out our Audiosurf review.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

Jump to comments (6)

About the author

Tom Bramwell

Tom Bramwell

Contributor  |  tombramwell

Tom worked at Eurogamer from early 2000 to late 2014, including seven years as Editor-in-Chief.


You may also enjoy...

Comments (6)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer Merch