Team Ninja has unveiled the latest entry in its long-running fighting series, Dead or Alive 6 - and it's coming to PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One in 2019.

Dead or Alive 6 welcomes back the likes of Kasumi, Hayabusa, Hayate, Helena, Jann Lee, and Zack, for another bout of the series' exuberant martial arts action - this time, according to IGN, all running on a brand-new engine.

This should allow for much greater realism as characters react to their opponent's attacks and the interactive stages around them. As is evident in the reveal trailer below, fighters now sport dynamic facial expressions, will sweat, and will gain visible wounds after taking damage. Additionally, there's said to be "drastically improved lighting" and 4K support.

In terms of changes to the combat itself, Dead or Alive 6 introduces new combo and special attack systems known as Fatal Rush and Break Gauge. These are described as powerful attacks that only require simple commands to perform, so as to help newcomers to the series - although old-hands will apparently find an additional layer of strategy as they learn to perfecting timings.

Dead or Alive 6 will offer a mix of classic and new fighters when it comes PC, Xbox One, and PS4 next year, and Team Ninja says that more will be revealed on Monday June 11th.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (46)

About the author

Matt Wales

Matt Wales


Matt Wales is a freelance writer and gambolling summer child who won't even pretend to live a busily impressive life of dynamic go-getting for the purposes of this bio. He is the sole and founding member of the Birdo for President of Everything Society.

More articles by Matt Wales