Pokémon-dedicated Nintendo Direct announced

Let's go.

Surprise! Nintendo has announced a special Pokémon Direct broadcast set for this Thursday, 9th January at 2.30pm UK time.

That's 6.30am Pacific, or 9.30am Eastern for our friends across the pond.

It feels soon - very soon - after the release of last year's Pokémon Sword and Shield to be making the kinds of announcement usually reserved for Pokémon Directs - ie. a brand new game.

But we already know 2020 will be a bumper year for Pokémon. We're due news on the franchise's all-encompassing Pokémon Home app, a new repository for creatures from 3DS and Nintendo Switch games plus Pokémon Go.

We're also due an update on Pokémon Sleep, the nighttime monitoring smartphone app set to reward you with Pokémon while you slumber.

Could we also get a hint at this year's big Pokémon game for Nintendo Switch? The existence of one feels inevitable - the last year without a mainline release was 2015, after all.

Tune in on Thursday for more.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (22)

About the author

Tom Phillips

Tom Phillips

News Editor

Tom is Eurogamer's news editor. He writes lots of news, some of the puns and all the stealth Destiny articles.

Related

You may also enjoy...

The Witcher 3 mods: Our best mod recommendations and how to install them in Wild Hunt

A list of essential PC mods and how to add them to your game.

Persona 5 test answers - How to ace school exam and class quiz questions

Become top of the class with our complete list of quiz answers.

Kingdom Hearts 3 Lucky Emblem locations

Where to find all 90 Lucky Emblems in Kingdom Hearts 3.

Comments (22)

Hide low-scoring comments
Order
Threading