ModernWarfare3 directs to Battlefield 3

But who is the website trickster?

The website www.ModernWarfare3.com redirects visitors to the official Battlefield 3 website, www.battlefield.com.

Who is responsible? An anonymous owner who registered www.ModernWarfare3.com with Domains by Proxy - a US service that keeps buyers private.

Before ModernWarfare3.com pointed elsewhere, the site contained an anti-Call of Duty video and defamatory text claiming Battlefield 3 would be the superior game, according to Kotaku.

Is such a tactic beyond EA's aggressive marketing campaign? Could this simply be the work of an irate fan with enough money to clinch a high profile URL from underneath Activision's nose?

Activision doesn't own website ModernWarfare.com or ModernWarfare4.com. And it's highly unlikely Activision owns ModerWarfare3.com - unless this is some twisted/ingenious marketing ploy.

What ModernWarfare3 should be showing you.

Comments (40) Latest comment 11 months ago

Comments for this article are now closed, but please feel free to continue chatting on the forum!