IGF 2010 challengers announced

The next Braid? World of Goo?

The Independent Games Festival has revealed the 306 contenders vying for the 2010 crown.

Each has a chance at the Seumas McNally Grand Prize ($20,000), named as such to honour the creator of Tread Marks, who died of Hodgkin's lymphoma after claiming IGF top honours in 2000.

More recent winners are Darwinia (2006), Aquaria (2007), Crayon Physics Deluxe (2008) and Blueberry Garden (2009).

Other categories are Excellence In Visual Art, Excellence In Audio, Innovation Award, Technical Excellence, Best Web Browser Game and Audience Award. Each awards $2500 to the winner.

Winners are announced at the San Francisco Game Developers Conference in March.

Head over to the IGF website for a full list of entries. Try a few.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

Jump to comments (19)

About the author

Robert Purchese

Robert Purchese

Senior Staff Writer  |  Clert

Bertie is senior staff writer and Eurogamer's Poland-and-dragons correspondent. He's part of the furniture here, a friendly chair, and reports on all kinds of things, the stranger the better.


Max Payne turns 20 years old today

It could destroy you, drive you mad. It could set you free.

Feature | Can the Playdate live up to its joyful premise?

Hands on with the pocket-sized, crank-based console.

You may also enjoy...

Comments (19)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer Merch