Free Xbox Live screening of Minecraft documentary on Saturday for Gold members

Mojangle bells.

Remember the flashy-pants Kickstarted Minecraft documentary that followed Notch for a year as he founded Mojang and meteorically shot to fame in 2011? It's done, it's finished and there's a free screening on Xbox Live this weekend.

European Gold members can watch at 7pm GMT / 8pm CET on Saturday, 22nd December. US Gold members can watch at 5pm PST / 8pm EST the same day.

The documentary will then be available on Sunday to everyone (who wants to pay, presumably).

Minecraft: The Story of Mojang, made by 2 Player Productions, is a feature-length documentary complimented by interviews with Peter Molyneux and Tim Schafer and the creators of Penny Arcade, among others.

It claims to be a time capsule for a game that has, well, become a cultural landmark for independent video games.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (28)

About the author

Robert Purchese

Robert Purchese

Senior Staff Writer

Bertie is senior staff writer and Eurogamer's Poland-and-dragons correspondent. He's part of the furniture here, a friendly chair, and reports on all kinds of things, the stranger the better.

Related

You may also enjoy...

Comments (28)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments
Order
Threading