Home powerline ethernet

  • Page

    of 4 First / Last

    Previous
  • LaundroMat 8 Aug 2005 10:58:40 1,442 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Anyone tried to run the LAN through the electricity network? Apparently, the technology's quite evolved, and the Devolo products (at 84Mb/s) definitely look very charming indeed.

    Could be nice for people like me who are looking for cheap wireless. Oh, and AV networking's a possibility as well.

    Update: Apparently, the high-speed version isn't that cheap... Two sockets for about 170UKP, according to Amazon.


    Edited by LaundroMat at 11:11:47 08-08-2005
  • LaundroMat 8 Aug 2005 11:37:55 1,442 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Hmm, as my xbox is close to my TV (which is fed by an external digital antenna), I'd have to look a bit closer into this interference... Any links?
  • sam_spade 8 Aug 2005 11:40:19 15,745 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    It's not a wireless replacement though is it? You can't sit in the garden and get some sun while on t'internet.
  • LaundroMat 8 Aug 2005 11:49:29 1,442 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    No, that's true, it applies specifically to me :)
  • Whizzo 8 Aug 2005 11:50:48 43,124 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    sam_spade wrote:
    It's not a wireless replacement though is it? You can't sit in the garden and get some sun while on t'internet.
    Use an extension lead! ;-)

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • symmetry 8 Aug 2005 12:30:53 508 posts
    Seen 3 weeks ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Most informative! Even if it did feel like I was in school.
  • Shinji 10 Sep 2008 19:20:24 5,903 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Yeah, the power socket networking stuff is awesome. We've got four of the adapters in the house, and we get brilliant speeds consistently through it. Never had any trouble with interference, even when there have been builders in the complex using 440v step-ups for their equipment.

    We keep wireless for things like laptops, iPhones and DS gaming, were speed doesn't matter that much, but these boxes are perfect for everything else. Obviously you can hang a switch off one of them if you've got more than one device on your desk (or more than one gaming console under the TV).
  • asphaltcowboy 10 Sep 2008 19:21:26 5,143 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I've got the 85mbps Netgear ones and they're brilliant. Of course, now I'm in such a small apartment, I don't really need them. But they are great. Obviously be wary of buying ones that you won't be able to get additional units for in the future (if you need to expand). The NetGear ones can be very picky like that (e.g. my dad has some of the 100mbps ones and they don't seem to like the 85mbps - typical Netgear! :p)
  • mcmonkeyplc 18 Nov 2009 11:05:32 39,456 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I'm think about getting these as I'm starting to get annoyed with iplayer buffering in my bedroom.

    Do these work ok on extenstion sockets?

    Come and get it cumslingers!

  • TheStylishHobo 18 Nov 2009 11:14:54 3,185 posts
    Seen 6 months ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    These things do sound pretty awesome, although maybe somebody can tell me if there is any point in me getting one:

    When I get my PS3, I will be stick in the room next to the router and the wall between the rooms is only plaster board (or whatever it is called), is there any point in using this as opposed to wifi for the PS3?

    mcmonkeyplc wrote:
    Do these work ok on extenstion sockets?

    I'd also like to know this, else it's pretty pointless for me.
  • Deleted user 18 November 2009 11:16:58
    TheStylishHobo wrote:
    These things do sound pretty awesome, although maybe somebody can tell me if there is any point in me getting one:

    When I get my PS3, I will be stick in the room next to the router and the wall between the rooms is only plaster board (or whatever it is called), is there any point in using this as opposed to wifi for the PS3?

    mcmonkeyplc wrote:
    Do these work ok on extenstion sockets?

    I'd also like to know this, else it's pretty pointless for me.

    generally they need to be plugged directly into the wall socket. they'll work on any socket though - even if it's on a separate ring.

    a
  • Dougs 18 Nov 2009 11:18:19 67,688 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I've got one on an extension and it's fine. I was getting drop outs that required a router re-start but I think that was my telephone wiring, seems to be fixed now.
  • JetSetWilly 18 Nov 2009 11:19:22 5,721 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    They do work on extension sockets, I'm using one like that right now. I've heard that they don't work on power surge protected strips though that didn't seem to be a problem when I tried it. YMMV of course.
  • andywilkie35 18 Nov 2009 11:23:32 5,338 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    My Xbox is connected through this as its too far from the router, works like an absolute charm. I'm on O2 if that makes any difference.

    PSN ID & Xbox Gamertag: Wedjwants

  • Dougs 18 Nov 2009 11:25:03 67,688 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I think mine is on a surge protector too.
  • Maturin 18 Nov 2009 11:27:52 2,994 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I've got three hooked up at home, all on power strips, and all working fine.
  • TheStylishHobo 18 Nov 2009 11:40:34 3,185 posts
    Seen 6 months ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Twin pack at £40.

    It's got perfect reviews and that's with 102 reviews. It begs the question why you'd need anything more expensive, but nonetheless, this is seriously tempting me.
  • kalel 18 Nov 2009 11:42:53 87,627 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    TheStylishHobo wrote:
    It begs the question why you'd need anything more expensive...

    The answer is that they won't be fast enough for things like streaming HD video over a network.
  • mcmonkeyplc 18 Nov 2009 11:44:04 39,456 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    What speed do you need to stream HD over a network? Wireless is only 54mbps on the standard G

    Come and get it cumslingers!

  • coastal 18 Nov 2009 11:44:27 5,383 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    They work fine. I've got one set on a 30ft extension lead. Never had any problems with it.

    bf3: sergeant_shaftoe

  • TheStylishHobo 18 Nov 2009 11:44:31 3,185 posts
    Seen 6 months ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    But, 85Mbps... What video will be sending more than 10MB across the network at any one second?
  • kalel 18 Nov 2009 11:53:49 87,627 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I doubt you'll get anywhere near 85Mbps in reality though, that's the thing. I went for AV version of Homeplug which is 200Mbp, which is definitely overkill, but it's rock solid for HD streams and future-proofed into the bargain.
  • Deleted user 18 November 2009 11:58:54
    mcmonkeyplc wrote:
    What speed do you need to stream HD over a network? Wireless is only 54mbps on the standard G

    Blu-rays are around 30-40Mb/s, sometimes higher, sometimes lower.
  • kalel 18 Nov 2009 12:01:21 87,627 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I did quite a bit of reading into it when I got my homeplugs and while I donít really understand why, the general feeling is that the bandwidth of these things is considerably less than the number on the box, which is the physical rate or something like that, itís kinda beyond me.

    All I know is that the 85Mb ones are reported to stutter a bit with HD video, and some streaming apps wonít actually let you do it at all over the normal homeplugs, which was why they brought out a 200Mb ĎAVí version.

  • Deleted user 18 November 2009 12:02:57
    Same with most things, they rate them at max performance. Lots of variables to take into account such as interference and error correction.
  • Dougs 18 Nov 2009 12:07:42 67,688 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Bill Door wrote:
    I think Dougs manages it. I don't have any hi def videos to stream myself, so can't comment.

    I've managed 4GB DVD rips no bother, but HD rips were a problem. Not tried any since I sorted my home wiring out though, so not sure if it was that, or because it was plugged into a extension socket
  • kalel 18 Nov 2009 12:08:36 87,627 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    A bit more reading suggests the average bandwidth of the 200Mbps ones is actually around 50Mbps, whereas the 85Mbps ones tend to go as low as 7-10Mbps.
  • MrWonderstuff 18 Nov 2009 12:10:04 1,933 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I bought a pair of 200mb and they are fab. Granted I only stream SD video and use the broadband but they are really a cool invention using only the bloody wall socket - crazy tech.
  • mrpon 18 Nov 2009 12:14:41 28,907 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    MrWonderstuff wrote:
    I bought a pair of 200mb and they are fab. Granted I only stream SD video and use the broadband but they are really a cool invention using only the bloody wall socket - crazy tech.
    And it get crazier with a PC in a plug - coming soon!

    Give yourself £5 or Ĺ gig, you're worth it.

  • Page

    of 4 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply