Allotments

• Page

of 2 First / Last

Previous
  • caligari 25 Jul 2013 22:09:19 17,193 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Any allotmenteers on EG?

I applied (what seems like) years ago and have finally received a spot from the council - now I just have to decide whether it's really worth the time and money.

I've never grown a vegetable-thing in my life - is it really that difficult?
  • boo 25 Jul 2013 22:11:44 11,928 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    /remembers double-digging on Dad's allotment
    /gets Vietnam style flashbacks

It's great. Enjoy!

Just Another Lego Blog

• jonsaan 25 Jul 2013 22:12:20 25,440 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    My mate has one and loves it. He was a complete novice when he got it some years back now.

FCUTA!

• Deleted user 25 July 2013 22:14:26
    caligari wrote:
    I've never grown a vegetable-thing in my life - is it really that difficult?
    It's very much like raising a child. You bury them in soft peat and make sure they're fed and watered, then harvest when fully grown.
  • mal 25 Jul 2013 22:29:56 22,826 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Be aware you'll need to put the hours in. A mate of mine got one but spent too much time down the pub rather than out in all weathers, and after a few months, they voted to take it off him.

Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

• TheDarkKnight 25 Jul 2013 22:54:21 695 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    We have a mini-allotment and it's a lot of work! After you buy all the plants/seeds, feed and stuff to protect plants (netting, slug pellets, straw etc) and factor in time, I honestly don't think it's much cheaper than buying it from the shop. That is not to say it isn't worthwhile though. It is relaxing and fulfilling, and of course at the moment is lovely to be outside on the plot.

A silent guardian, a watchful protector. A Dark Knight. Twitch PSN The_Apostle