Killzone 2 load times

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • braydee89 4 Sep 2012 22:55:54 50 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Got a PS3 a few months back and I'm trawling through the exclusives I've missed over the last few years.
    Currently got Killzone 2 in the disc drive but the first load seems to be taking forever, I've reset the console twice because I felt certain it had crashed after loading for at least five minutes.
    Has anyone else had this issue and does anyone know of a way to fix it?
    Thanks in advance.
  • FuzzyDuck 5 Sep 2012 01:01:43 3,920 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Haven't played it in an age, but i do recall the initial load being excessive.

    There's some impressive streaming going on in some of the exclusives, but it always irked me as i felt that the laser was getting a noisy workout while the hard drive was sitting there with loads of unused space.

    Have you actually got playing it, or does it just not load at all? It was released fairly early in the PS3's life, and the loading/streaming solutions used in it aren't great.

    If you are playing it and find the game coldly cuts to a load screen at certain parts, that's perfectly normal for this unfortunately. Pulls you right out of the game imo.

    As an aside, if you fancy a game from the Motorstorm series, don't touch the first one; some of the worst loading this gen in it.
  • Deleted user 5 September 2012 01:07:23
    Haha, I remember when I got my PS3, starting games was like waiting for my C64 to load, next-gen indeed!
  • mal 5 Sep 2012 03:09:12 22,341 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Everybody's Golf WT has got to have one of the worst initial load times. Think that was a launch game mind you.

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • spamdangled 5 Sep 2012 03:40:42 27,271 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    braydee89 wrote:
    Got a PS3 a few months back and I'm trawling through the exclusives I've missed over the last few years.
    Currently got Killzone 2 in the disc drive but the first load seems to be taking forever, I've reset the console twice because I felt certain it had crashed after loading for at least five minutes.
    Has anyone else had this issue and does anyone know of a way to fix it?
    Thanks in advance.
    My advice? If you find the loads in KZ2 annoying, don't "play" MGS4.

    3DS: 4055-2781-2855 Xbox: spamdangled PSN: dark_morgan Wii U: Spamdangle Steam: spamdangled

  • MrTomFTW Moderator 5 Sep 2012 06:39:55 37,382 posts
    Seen 5 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    darkmorgado wrote:
    braydee89 wrote:
    Got a PS3 a few months back and I'm trawling through the exclusives I've missed over the last few years.
    Currently got Killzone 2 in the disc drive but the first load seems to be taking forever, I've reset the console twice because I felt certain it had crashed after loading for at least five minutes.
    Has anyone else had this issue and does anyone know of a way to fix it?
    Thanks in advance.
    My advice? If you find the loads in KZ2 annoying, don't "play" MGS4.
    Urgh, so true.

    Follow me on Twitter: @MrTom
    Voted by the community "Best mod" 2011, 2012 and 2013.

  • waggy79 5 Sep 2012 07:40:23 916 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    They were terrible, better now after the full install tbf.
  • braydee89 5 Sep 2012 10:58:56 50 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Currently sat with the initial load time at over 9 minutes, the screen reacts to sixaxis movement though which makes me think it hasn't crashed.

    Is this normal?
  • waggy79 5 Sep 2012 13:47:34 916 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Over 9 minutes? No that's not normal. They were long iirc but a couple of minutes tops
  • kalel 5 Sep 2012 13:50:35 86,420 posts
    Seen 33 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    The load times were the best bit.
  • dr_swin 5 Sep 2012 14:22:13 4,867 posts
    Seen 21 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I was watching a film the other day called 'Kid with a Bike' where the titular kid was invited back to home of a miscreant to play 'assassin's creed'. The miscreant switched on the console and had him playing within about 30 seconds. How unrealistic is that! Didn't even have to sit through the mandatory firmware update.
  • AaronTurner 10 Apr 2013 07:46:16 7,597 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Got this game yesterday and as the other thread is buggered I'll ask here, are the controls screwed up in this game or is there something wrong with my setup? It seems like when I'm aiming I always overshoot where I want to be and it's kind of ruining what looks like a good game.
  • Big-Swiss 10 Apr 2013 07:47:56 8,076 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    buy move
    buy a toy gun to use move
    fiddle with the move controls until you have it your way

    blast away!
  • dominalien 10 Apr 2013 07:53:29 6,839 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Move?

    PSN: DonOsito

  • skuzzbag 10 Apr 2013 08:00:15 5,637 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Think that was why I ditched it also. After playing other better implemented games it was just too frustrating.
  • Triggerhappytel 10 Apr 2013 09:07:03 2,674 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Big-Swiss wrote:
    buy move
    buy a toy gun to use move
    fiddle with the move controls until you have it your way

    blast away!
    Move doesn't work with Killzone 2.
  • DUFFMAN5 10 Apr 2013 09:48:56 14,435 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Is he thinking of KZ3 ?

    "Duffman is thrusting in the direction of the problem! Oh, yeah!"

  • AaronTurner 10 Apr 2013 22:29:46 7,597 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    It's annoying but I've persevered. It's a good game other than the controls.
  • King_Edward 10 Apr 2013 22:48:56 11,454 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Did you do the update? They fiddled with the aiming not long after launch.
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply