PS3 FAQ - Ask all questions in here! Page 116

  • Page

    of 120 First / Last

  • freddymercurystwin 2 Jun 2013 10:56:23 451 posts
    Seen 34 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Like this one :-P http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qKGV6H_NC2I

    Looks like I'm good to go!
  • dominalien 2 Jun 2013 10:56:28 6,852 posts
    Seen 45 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Trafford wrote:
    dominalien wrote:
    Trafford wrote:
    The guy in the shop set it to the correct format for me ( I don't have a pc at the moment.
    Did he charge you for it?
    No, local Polish electronics shop, I was having a key cut.
    Paid £40 for what appears to be 300gb.
    Good, because it's unnecessary. The PS3 does it all when you put the drive in for the first time.

    PSN: DonOsito

  • Trafford 2 Jun 2013 11:00:47 5,791 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Heh, good thing. I did see a guide on the internet that said it needed doing.
  • Trafford 6 Jun 2013 13:07:40 5,791 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Here's an idiot question.

    I now have the mounting bracket. I'll need to remove the HD to fix the bracket properly.
    Will I lose the fuck ton of game downloads I've performed since the weekend?
  • X201 6 Jun 2013 13:41:00 15,344 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Not if you've performed them on that drive and are only mounting it in place.

    And do it with the power off :)

    Edited by X201 at 13:42:30 06-06-2013
  • Trafford 6 Jun 2013 14:03:34 5,791 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @X201

    Nice one, thanks!
  • f311 9 Jun 2013 20:13:29 248 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Similar thing here, my brother just got a ps3 with a 12gb HDD, about to order him a 320GB external HDD for £35 before I do it, that can be used for everything right? game saves, downloads installs, everthing thats needed?
  • X201 9 Jun 2013 20:18:44 15,344 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    If its only for the PS3 use an internal drive.
  • oldschoolsoviet 9 Jun 2013 20:19:59 5,478 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Nope. Externals can be used to back-up saves, but it's an internal HDD for everything else. You can't run game data etc from an external.
  • f311 9 Jun 2013 20:50:28 248 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Oh right so what do I have to buy then/
  • X201 9 Jun 2013 20:56:47 15,344 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Just a normal laptop drive.2.5 inch

    If you have the new super slim PS3 you'll need the PS3 HDD mounting bracket as well.
  • oldschoolsoviet 9 Jun 2013 20:57:20 5,478 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Something like this.....

    I see folk talking about buying a replacement bracket too (is this only for the Super Slims ?) and that's linked on the page.

    ED: lol @ X201

    Edited by oldschoolsoviet at 20:58:06 09-06-2013
  • f311 9 Jun 2013 20:58:15 248 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Ok thanks, are they hard to put in? Baring in mind i've never opened a ps3 in my life...
  • X201 9 Jun 2013 21:01:29 15,344 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Its easy.

    Which PS3 have you got?
  • OptimusPube 9 Jun 2013 21:02:19 3,007 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    You have to buy an internal 2.5" laptop drive, they're a piece of piss to install, I put a 400gig in mine years ago and it's the best thing I ever did, I have well over a hundred films in MP4 format stored on it.

    http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/4-/14918143/779161981/Samsung-Spinpoint-640GB-2-5-inch-Internal-SATA-Hard-Drive/ListingDetails.html?_%24ja=tsid:13315%7Ccat:14918143%7Cprd:14918143&kw={keyword}

    You better watch out.
    You better beware.
    Albert said E=MC²

  • X201 9 Jun 2013 21:04:19 15,344 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    @oldschoolsoviet

    Yep. Super Slim hasn't got the mounting bracket.
    £10 for an official one.
  • oldschoolsoviet 9 Jun 2013 21:41:30 5,478 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    @f311
    So:

    Buy internal HDD (£40+)
    Buy mounting bracket (£10)

    Fit HDD into bracket
    Whack that into PS3*

    Start PS3 and let it format/setup the HDD

    Done.
    *A vid showing a S.Slim with a new HDD already in place, for pointers.
  • X201 9 Jun 2013 21:45:32 15,344 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    @oldschoolsoviet

    The 12GB drive bit didn't register with me regarding the model :-)
  • spamdangled 9 Jun 2013 21:48:21 27,354 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Quick question - the TV in our bedroom doesn't have an HDMI port. Is there a way I can still hook up my PS3 to it?

    3DS: 4055-2781-2855 Xbox: spamdangled PSN: dark_morgan Wii U: Spamdangle Steam: spamdangled

  • X201 9 Jun 2013 21:55:55 15,344 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Yep, but it depends on what ports the TV has.

    The old fashioned way scart or composite

    If it has a dvi you can get hdmi to dvi cable
  • Spectral 9 Jun 2013 21:57:37 4,989 posts
    Seen 15 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    X201 wrote:
    Yep, but it depends on what ports the TV has.

    The old fashioned way scart or composite

    If it has a dvi you can get hdmi to dvi cable
    With HDMI to DVI sound is going to have to go through an amp/seperate speakers.
  • X201 9 Jun 2013 21:59:45 15,344 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Spectral wrote:
    X201 wrote:
    Yep, but it depends on what ports the TV has.

    The old fashioned way scart or composite

    If it has a dvi you can get hdmi to dvi cable
    With HDMI to DVI sound is going to have to go through an amp/seperate speakers.
    Yep, forgot to mention. Just take my setup for granted.
  • DodgyPast 10 Jun 2013 04:02:55 8,465 posts
    Seen 43 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Component is best if the TV takes it.
  • f311 10 Jun 2013 08:59:26 248 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    oldschoolsoviet wrote:
    @f311
    So:

    Buy internal HDD (£40+)
    Buy mounting bracket (£10)

    Fit HDD into bracket
    Whack that into PS3*

    Start PS3 and let it format/setup the HDD

    Done.
    *A vid showing a S.Slim with a new HDD already in place, for pointers.
    Thanks matey!

    I was wondering if someone could link me a hard drive they know 100% would work in the ps3? It doesnt have to be as big as 500gb the cheaper the better but no lower than 200, also the bracket. I would do it myself but I know for sure id pick the wrong one.
  • D_arkTrooper 10 Jun 2013 13:29:49 1,316 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Try this.

    Edited by D_arkTrooper at 13:30:41 10-06-2013

    3DS Friend Code : 5000-2484-1471

    Animal Crossing alter ego: Andy from Stoke

  • imamazed 12 Jun 2013 14:12:41 5,566 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Is there any way to re-organise your game folders (other than just splitting between all and PSP/PS3/PS1)?

    What with PS+ and such, my PS3 game folder is huge and I'd like to be able to make it more manageable
  • NeoGoaT 1 Jul 2013 22:01:07 290 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Just replaced the laser and deck thing in a mates PS3. It still wont play Blu-Rays. It shimmies for a while, makes a "honk" noise, does another little shimmy, then nothing. Playing DVDs fine though. Ive tried option 3 in recovery mode and now Im stumped. Anyone been down this path before?
  • thefilthandthefury 2 Jul 2013 07:39:14 25,011 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Can I make it so the notifications for friends logging in don't show up when I'm watching video, such as Netflix, like on the 360? I can only find the option for off or on.
  • Velocityraptor 2 Jul 2013 08:02:36 15 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    @imamazed

    I think square flicks through various methods of sorting (you seem to have discovered it if you can split them by console). One of them is "sort by type". Then you can select individual games with the triangle button and alter its type, creating a folder system.

    Very basic, with no sub folders, but its good enough for me given that I've only got around 20 games installed. Little late, I know, but I'm not on these forums much and if you still needed help...
  • Sharzam 2 Jul 2013 09:26:17 2,862 posts
    Seen 14 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Is their a method you can use to measure PS3 input lag without buying equipment?

    Just bought a new Sony TV (KDL 42W653a) and I swear it is more responsive than my old TV a LG 37LH3000.  Didn't think was a problem before but feels totally different.

    Known as 'Sharzam' in 98.5% of games

  • Page

    of 120 First / Last

Log in or register to reply