Home powerline ethernet Page 2

  • Page

    of 4 First / Last

  • kalel 18 Nov 2009 12:16:29 87,687 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Incidentally you can actually use homeplugs to extend wireless networks, or even create separate mini-wireless networks in an enclosed area. You can buy ones with a wireless antenna, so if for example you live in a big house and the wireless doesnít stretch to downstairs, you plug in the wireless extender one downstairs and create a network off that, which can have a separate password to the main router. You can also use the wireless ones in conjunction with the wired ones.

    They really are incredibly versatile. I love the things.

  • kalel 18 Nov 2009 12:22:59 87,687 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Smuggo wrote:
    Is there anything like this for HDMI?

    I don't really want to have to drape a long cable all the way round my house but would like to output from my PC to the TV without having to move the damn thing.

    Quite possibly, I've certainly seen a phono plug type version of homeplug.
  • kalel 18 Nov 2009 12:24:12 87,687 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Hmmm
  • kalel 18 Nov 2009 12:34:32 87,687 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    If itís possible to do, Iím sure Homeplug will release their version before long.

    That said, you could already achieve the same thing now with a regular homeplug and a cheap streamer/360/PS3.

  • kalel 18 Nov 2009 12:41:18 87,687 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Oh I see.
  • Deleted user 18 November 2009 12:44:11
    kalel wrote:
    A bit more reading suggests the average bandwidth of the 200Mbps ones is actually around 50Mbps, whereas the 85Mbps ones tend to go as low as 7-10Mbps.
    Depends in the quality of your electrical circuit. It was pretty shitty when I tried them a year or so ago, my wireless was actually faster.
  • mcmonkeyplc 18 Nov 2009 13:25:43 39,457 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I dont suppose there is anyway I can test how fast I could get a connection on these?

    I live in a block of flats. How are these wired? Each flat has it's own internal cabling connected to the main flat electric grid?

    Come and get it cumslingers!

  • Bremenacht 18 Nov 2009 13:50:32 18,248 posts
    Seen 5 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    The problem with these is that they're only as good as your wiring, and can be affected by 'noisy' devices plugged in elsewhere. Your power cabling is also unshielded, allowing further interference. It's usually not a problem, but if you're going to be streaming massive volumes of data, you'd want to know what your 'real' bandwidth is before setting something up. Perhaps by running large file transfer tests between two PCs or something.
  • Deleted user 18 November 2009 14:04:31
    where I live we have 3 different meters, one for each floor (its a pretty large house). The router is on the ground floor & my ps3 is on the top floor, so I think there connected to different meters.. At the moment I use a wireless extender but its far from perfect.

    Im guessing the homeplugs won't work either?
  • burns 23 Nov 2009 16:08:32 1,138 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I have a couple of these in my house http://www.amazon.co.uk/Max-Value-Mbps-Home-Double/dp/B000TV7FJ4/ref=pd_cp_ce_0 and I have noticed that the collision detection light is constantly blinking when I use them in a particular room in my house which results in very slow speeds.

    Does anyone know what would be the cause of this? As soon as I move the plug out into the adjacent room the problem is resolved.

    Could it be too much electrical traffic on a particular circuit?
  • androidave 20 Jul 2010 12:55:14 102 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    I've just setup a pair of these with a 6 port switch and they work perfectly. I was using wireless but I was so far away from the router I would only get 2 bars, slow speed and random dropouts.. i didn't think these would work tbh, as we're on a 3 phase supply and I'm pretty sure the sockets the homeplugs are using are on a different phase to eachother.. But they still seem to work, 85mbs network and 17.6mbs on an internet connection speed test :)
  • ModishNouns 11 Aug 2010 09:10:32 4,655 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Any makes to look for / avoid? Maplin have got a pair of Powerline 200Mbps adapters for £70.
  • figgis 11 Aug 2010 09:22:08 7,376 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    These look ok for 45

    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/160665

    but I've used these for the last year without any problems.

    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/179960
  • wobbler147 11 Aug 2010 09:32:29 5,139 posts
    Seen 36 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I have a pair of Comtrend Powergird 9020 adaptors for sale if interested?

    http://www.comtrend.com/links/114$product.htm

    Only used once to update my Bravia firmware. Drop me a PM if interested.
  • ModishNouns 11 Aug 2010 10:02:30 4,655 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    How do you find out if your plugs are on the same ring? Same ring = same fuse in the fuse box?
  • wobbler147 11 Aug 2010 10:47:54 5,139 posts
    Seen 36 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Shouldn't matter, as long as the they're all going to the same RCD.

    Have a read here:

    http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=829843
  • dominalien 11 Aug 2010 14:13:34 6,860 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Post deleted

    PSN: DonOsito

  • Deleted user 25 November 2010 10:54:52
    Post deleted
  • mrpon 3 Sep 2011 15:34:02 28,914 posts
    Seen 7 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Just picked up a Netgear Powerline AV500 cheap, report to follow next week.

    Give yourself £5 or Ĺ gig, you're worth it.

  • kentmonkey 12 Dec 2011 20:15:00 20,684 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    What do you reckon to these bad boys?

    I get 3.98 via the router at the moment, would that solution be able to cope with that speed (actually, what speed can it go up to, all of the different speeds confuse me)? We should also be getting fibre soon in our road, capable of 20mb (yeah, I know, I won't actually get that), so knowing what these would be capable of at 200mbps would be great.

    At the moment, because of the way the house has been wired for phone, I can only plug the router in downstairs as that has a faceplate with the phone coming out of one socket and the broadband coming out of another (I think it's an old ISDN box, but can't be sure). No broadband comes out of the other phone sockets not even with filters, and I don't even actually need to use filters I've found out as again it seems to strip the signal into this other socket) so I can't use my XBOX online.
  • FutileResistor 12 Dec 2011 21:14:14 1,230 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    These are great if you have flakey wi-fi and can't face the prospect of lifting up carpets and floorboards to do gigabit ethernet. Setup is literally plug and play, you need no technical knowledge at all. If your wiring is relatively modern they are a lot more stable and faster than wireless.

    Unfortunately there's no way to tell how well they will work in your house until you buy a pair and test them.

    I'm using these which are more expensive but have a pass-through socket so I don't lose a power outlet.
  • kentmonkey 12 Dec 2011 21:52:22 20,684 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I would need to plug it into an extension lead, but I don't know whether to chance the ones I linked to above in an extension lead, or to pay more and get the one you linked to. Money is kind of tight though.

    What speed is 200mbps (in terms of broadband speed. I get confused with all the different ratings of speeds).
  • Dougs 12 Dec 2011 21:56:15 67,723 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    The couple I've got are fine in an extension socket, even though they say they're not compatible. And yeah, get the 200Mbps ones, they'll be fine. Will be more than enough.
  • Deleted user 19 December 2011 15:40:31
    Just got my Belkin ones working there now after buying them last year and not having the patience to get the better of them when they wouldn't work at the time.

    No more Internet connection sharing through my desktop PCs wireless when i'm on Live/PSN \o/

    What a great little invention they are.
  • ModishNouns 19 Dec 2011 16:20:11 4,655 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Anyone else have to re-synch them every few days?
  • Page

    of 4 First / Last

Log in or register to reply