XBOX live keeps disconnecting every 3-5 mins

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • TOOTR 18 Apr 2013 18:22:27 9,602 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    This is driving me insane. There has been no issue with my xbox live for years and the last week or so it keeps dropping out every 3-5 mins.

    Ethernet cable connection to a router that isn't dropping out to my pc at all.

    have rebooted router

    have turned off xbox and tried the 'connection tests' which always work and show everything is fine and dandy and then....3 mins later dump me out again.

    Any ideas from the network geeks?

    BinaryBob101 wrote:
    The Danger Mouse reboot worries me a great deal.

  • Deckard1 18 Apr 2013 18:23:52 28,706 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Somethings fucked
  • neilka 18 Apr 2013 18:33:21 16,247 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Buy a Wii U
  • TOOTR 18 Apr 2013 18:48:40 9,602 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Look I've tried tweaking autoexec.bat and messing about with some config.sys settings but it's not playing ball.

    You useful mothers.

    Where's Buztafen when you need him eh?

    BinaryBob101 wrote:
    The Danger Mouse reboot worries me a great deal.

  • Deckard1 18 Apr 2013 18:50:58 28,706 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    TOOTR wrote:
    Look I've tried tweaking autoexec.bat and messing about with some config.sys settings but it's not playing ball.

    You useful mothers.

    Where's Buztafen when you need him eh?
    Somethings fucked. If you've reset the router and it's still doing it, either the router, the ethernet cable or the xbox is fucked. Somethings fucked.
  • shamblemonkee 18 Apr 2013 18:52:15 14,485 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Ports?
  • Deckard1 18 Apr 2013 18:53:06 28,706 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Ports won't make you disconnect.
  • Deleted user 18 April 2013 18:55:16
    So is mine. The last week or so. It's totally fuck-o and I've no idea why. Spent ages sorting the router a few months ago and it was better than ever. Now I'm lucky if it connects. I can't even be arsed turning the console on these days now.
  • neilka 18 Apr 2013 18:55:33 16,247 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    He didn't ask where he could find some sailors.
  • shamblemonkee 18 Apr 2013 18:56:56 14,485 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Deckard1 did for me when swapped from Be to BT, well seemed to at least. Until I chose the services and set the ports it would discon every few mind on bt, buy hey no expert and I guess it would be odd with no changes prior
  • Buztafen 18 Apr 2013 19:09:53 16,341 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @TOOTR
    Have you tried the port on the router and the cable that work with your pc? Could be a dodgy one of them? Also unplug the router completely from the wall for a couple of minutes rather than just resetting it.

    If that doesn't help then...as Deckard says so eloquently...somethings definitely fucked.

    Edited by Buztafen at 19:10:35 18-04-2013
  • Ziz0u 18 Apr 2013 19:13:57 8,490 posts
    Seen 22 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    NAT?
  • BillMurray 18 Apr 2013 19:14:54 7,790 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Mines been doing this for ages. I'm on a wireless router though. My only solution was to not use my Xbox anymore.
  • Fake_Blood 18 Apr 2013 19:18:51 4,286 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    It's the routers power adapter.
    Or live is fucked.
  • TOOTR 18 Apr 2013 19:20:25 9,602 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    lol

    I'll try plugging directly into the 360 to rule out the router but FFS that means clambering around in the dust and the cables behind the tv.

    That will take minutes of my time.

    I'd hoped someone else had had the same problem previously and had an easier, less physical solution. You cunnys :)


    I also think 'Somethings fucked' is a great name for a IT support company.

    BinaryBob101 wrote:
    The Danger Mouse reboot worries me a great deal.

  • mrpon 18 Apr 2013 19:21:50 29,184 posts
    Seen 42 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Dust y'say?

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • TOOTR 18 Apr 2013 19:24:40 9,602 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Buztafen wrote:
    @TOOTR
    Have you tried the port on the router and the cable that work with your pc? Could be a dodgy one of them? Also unplug the router completely from the wall for a couple of minutes rather than just resetting it.

    If that doesn't help then...as Deckard says so eloquently...somethings definitely fucked.
    Buz - I think you just sit there waiting for tech issues to happen somewhere in the world and spring into action.


    And, as long as we've moved on from somethings fucked to somethings definitely fucked I've got to tack that down to progress.

    BinaryBob101 wrote:
    The Danger Mouse reboot worries me a great deal.

  • TOOTR 18 Apr 2013 19:25:33 9,602 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    mrpon wrote:
    Dust y'say?
    Oh come on - dust is the friend of electronics everywhere!

    My PC would fall to pieces if I cleaned it.

    BinaryBob101 wrote:
    The Danger Mouse reboot worries me a great deal.

  • Buztafen 18 Apr 2013 19:29:37 16,341 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    :) Being name dropped in a thread gives me massive amounts of self important smugness so I had to respond. The only problem is i generally know fuck all about routers other than "is it on? are lights flashing? and can you download porn?"

    Good luck intrepid tech pioneer. Have you tried blowing on it?

    PS Piggy'll know what to do...

    Edited by Buztafen at 19:33:40 18-04-2013
  • EMarkM 18 Apr 2013 20:24:20 3,186 posts
    Seen 38 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I'm an IT professional and I think I've narrowed it down for you.

    It's either a hardware problem or a software problem.
  • Deleted user 18 April 2013 20:27:31
    give it a reboyt
  • TOOTR 19 Apr 2013 18:10:57 9,602 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Ok plugged it straight in and bypassed router.

    Was working fine - got my hopes up - checked that NAT was open by trying some Trials Evolution Multiplayer and then...disconnects itself again.

    Boo and hiss.

    It does appear to be borked. :(

    BinaryBob101 wrote:
    The Danger Mouse reboot worries me a great deal.

  • BinaryBob101 19 Apr 2013 18:19:49 23,521 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    TOOTR wrote:
    I also think 'Somethings fucked' is a great name for a IT support company.
    It's almost as good as "Touching Cloth" for a dry cleaning company.

    www.TheGrumpyVaper.com

  • BinaryBob101 19 Apr 2013 18:21:25 23,521 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Also, have you tried calling xbox customer support? I have the number somewhere...

    www.TheGrumpyVaper.com

  • killersrquiet 19 Apr 2013 21:55:15 2,048 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Are you sure your connection isn't dropping from the line/cable. Log into the router and check the uptime.

    Try another Ethernet cable/port and try the wireless on the Xbox instead
  • Load_2.0 19 Apr 2013 21:58:42 19,442 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Sounds like something is fucked.
  • mrpon 19 Apr 2013 22:03:48 29,184 posts
    Seen 42 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • Doomspoon 19 Apr 2013 22:54:08 2,490 posts
    Seen 15 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Not your ISP throttling Live? When I was with Pipex and they were bought out by Tiscali some years back I kept getting dropped from Live, I phoned their support and replaced all of the microfilters and cables only to find they were dicking around with the connection at their end.

    I also had regular disconnections a year or so back with my current provider, I found a factory reset of the router fixed things.
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply