XBOX live keeps disconnecting every 3-5 mins

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • TOOTR 18 Apr 2013 18:22:27 9,674 posts
    Seen 20 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    This is driving me insane. There has been no issue with my xbox live for years and the last week or so it keeps dropping out every 3-5 mins.

    Ethernet cable connection to a router that isn't dropping out to my pc at all.

    have rebooted router

    have turned off xbox and tried the 'connection tests' which always work and show everything is fine and dandy and then....3 mins later dump me out again.

    Any ideas from the network geeks?

    BinaryBob101 wrote:
    The Danger Mouse reboot worries me a great deal.

  • graysonavich 18 Apr 2013 18:29:13 7,385 posts
    Seen 17 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    File->Settings->Dudebro->Disable
  • neilka Funniest Forumite, 2014 18 Apr 2013 18:33:21 16,817 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Buy a Wii U

    AVOID

  • TOOTR 18 Apr 2013 18:48:40 9,674 posts
    Seen 20 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Look I've tried tweaking autoexec.bat and messing about with some config.sys settings but it's not playing ball.

    You useful mothers.

    Where's Buztafen when you need him eh?

    BinaryBob101 wrote:
    The Danger Mouse reboot worries me a great deal.

  • shamblemonkee 18 Apr 2013 18:52:15 14,866 posts
    Seen 13 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Ports?
  • Deleted user 18 April 2013 18:55:16
    So is mine. The last week or so. It's totally fuck-o and I've no idea why. Spent ages sorting the router a few months ago and it was better than ever. Now I'm lucky if it connects. I can't even be arsed turning the console on these days now.
  • neilka Funniest Forumite, 2014 18 Apr 2013 18:55:33 16,817 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    He didn't ask where he could find some sailors.

    AVOID

  • shamblemonkee 18 Apr 2013 18:56:56 14,866 posts
    Seen 13 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Deckard1 did for me when swapped from Be to BT, well seemed to at least. Until I chose the services and set the ports it would discon every few mind on bt, buy hey no expert and I guess it would be odd with no changes prior
  • Buztafen 18 Apr 2013 19:09:53 16,737 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @TOOTR
    Have you tried the port on the router and the cable that work with your pc? Could be a dodgy one of them? Also unplug the router completely from the wall for a couple of minutes rather than just resetting it.

    If that doesn't help then...as Deckard says so eloquently...somethings definitely fucked.

    Edited by Buztafen at 19:10:35 18-04-2013
  • Ziz0u 18 Apr 2013 19:13:57 8,660 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    NAT?
  • BillMurray 18 Apr 2013 19:14:54 8,034 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Mines been doing this for ages. I'm on a wireless router though. My only solution was to not use my Xbox anymore.
  • graysonavich 18 Apr 2013 19:16:30 7,385 posts
    Seen 17 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Sounds like a blessing in disguise. Throw that piece of shit out the window.
  • Fake_Blood 18 Apr 2013 19:18:51 4,666 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    It's the routers power adapter.
    Or live is fucked.
  • TOOTR 18 Apr 2013 19:20:25 9,674 posts
    Seen 20 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    lol

    I'll try plugging directly into the 360 to rule out the router but FFS that means clambering around in the dust and the cables behind the tv.

    That will take minutes of my time.

    I'd hoped someone else had had the same problem previously and had an easier, less physical solution. You cunnys :)


    I also think 'Somethings fucked' is a great name for a IT support company.

    BinaryBob101 wrote:
    The Danger Mouse reboot worries me a great deal.

  • mrpon 18 Apr 2013 19:21:50 29,979 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Dust y'say?

    Give me 5 I'm worth it.

  • TOOTR 18 Apr 2013 19:24:40 9,674 posts
    Seen 20 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Buztafen wrote:
    @TOOTR
    Have you tried the port on the router and the cable that work with your pc? Could be a dodgy one of them? Also unplug the router completely from the wall for a couple of minutes rather than just resetting it.

    If that doesn't help then...as Deckard says so eloquently...somethings definitely fucked.
    Buz - I think you just sit there waiting for tech issues to happen somewhere in the world and spring into action.


    And, as long as we've moved on from somethings fucked to somethings definitely fucked I've got to tack that down to progress.

    BinaryBob101 wrote:
    The Danger Mouse reboot worries me a great deal.

  • TOOTR 18 Apr 2013 19:25:33 9,674 posts
    Seen 20 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    mrpon wrote:
    Dust y'say?
    Oh come on - dust is the friend of electronics everywhere!

    My PC would fall to pieces if I cleaned it.

    BinaryBob101 wrote:
    The Danger Mouse reboot worries me a great deal.

  • Buztafen 18 Apr 2013 19:29:37 16,737 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    :) Being name dropped in a thread gives me massive amounts of self important smugness so I had to respond. The only problem is i generally know fuck all about routers other than "is it on? are lights flashing? and can you download porn?"

    Good luck intrepid tech pioneer. Have you tried blowing on it?

    PS Piggy'll know what to do...

    Edited by Buztafen at 19:33:40 18-04-2013
  • EMarkM 18 Apr 2013 20:24:20 3,793 posts
    Seen 4 weeks ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I'm an IT professional and I think I've narrowed it down for you.

    It's either a hardware problem or a software problem.
  • Deleted user 18 April 2013 20:27:31
    give it a reboyt
  • TOOTR 19 Apr 2013 18:10:57 9,674 posts
    Seen 20 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Ok plugged it straight in and bypassed router.

    Was working fine - got my hopes up - checked that NAT was open by trying some Trials Evolution Multiplayer and then...disconnects itself again.

    Boo and hiss.

    It does appear to be borked. :(

    BinaryBob101 wrote:
    The Danger Mouse reboot worries me a great deal.

  • BinaryBob101 19 Apr 2013 18:19:49 25,007 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    TOOTR wrote:
    I also think 'Somethings fucked' is a great name for a IT support company.
    It's almost as good as "Touching Cloth" for a dry cleaning company.

    www.TheGrumpyVaper.com

  • BinaryBob101 19 Apr 2013 18:21:25 25,007 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Also, have you tried calling xbox customer support? I have the number somewhere...

    www.TheGrumpyVaper.com

  • killersrquiet 19 Apr 2013 21:55:15 2,322 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Are you sure your connection isn't dropping from the line/cable. Log into the router and check the uptime.

    Try another Ethernet cable/port and try the wireless on the Xbox instead
  • Load_2.0 19 Apr 2013 21:58:42 20,161 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Sounds like something is fucked.
  • mrpon 19 Apr 2013 22:03:48 29,979 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 8 years ago

    Give me 5 I'm worth it.

  • Doomspoon 19 Apr 2013 22:54:08 2,530 posts
    Seen 52 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Not your ISP throttling Live? When I was with Pipex and they were bought out by Tiscali some years back I kept getting dropped from Live, I phoned their support and replaced all of the microfilters and cables only to find they were dicking around with the connection at their end.

    I also had regular disconnections a year or so back with my current provider, I found a factory reset of the router fixed things.
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply