Internet Speed Envy Page 4

  • Page

    of 9 First / Last

  • Psychotext 22 Dec 2012 13:33:34 53,816 posts
    Seen 28 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    munki83 wrote:
    @Psychotext

    That really sucks. In my area the majority of the nice areas have really crap internet and all the council houses and undesirable areas have lovely fibre optic cable from virgin media. Virgin Media have no plans to expand to us but bt say that by Juneish this year we should have FTTC
    Yeah, it's really really poor. Don't know what to do about it as the commuting is going to cost a fortune both in fuel and time. :(

    @Timotei: Here, but I don't see the difference it makes.

  • munki83 22 Dec 2012 13:58:30 1,397 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    You mean like this



    Edited by munki83 at 13:58:48 22-12-2012
  • Psychotext 22 Dec 2012 14:14:04 53,816 posts
    Seen 28 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    :(
  • Kanjin 22 Dec 2012 14:19:01 1,052 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Here's mine

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/2388327031.png[/IMG]

    Used to be the same as munkl83's
  • munki83 22 Dec 2012 14:37:29 1,397 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I think someone over at EE finaly got round to looking at my account

  • mikew1985 11 Mar 2013 15:16:29 12,589 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Got an incorrect bill today from my provider.

    After getting them to make the necessary alterations, they also upgraded my connection from 120Mbps to 150Mbps.

    Crazyily over the top, but free upgrades are always a plus :D
  • Armoured_Bear 11 Mar 2013 16:06:41 10,274 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    mikew1985 wrote:
    Got an incorrect bill today from my provider.

    After getting them to make the necessary alterations, they also upgraded my connection from 120Mbps to 150Mbps.

    Crazyily over the top, but free upgrades are always a plus :D
    Where do you live?

    XBL : ecosse011172
    PSN : ecosse_011172
    NNID : armoured_bear

  • spindizzy 11 Mar 2013 16:36:55 6,427 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I live right in the centre of Geneva, Switzerland. I pay 80 GBP or so for my internet+Tv+phone. My internet connection is 5Mb down, 0.8 up. It's awful. I called to complain (I pay for 20Mb) and even helped the engineer pull a new line... no change.

    Edit: and my parent's place in rural france gets 30Mb or so, and costs way less.

    Edited by spindizzy at 16:37:56 11-03-2013
  • mikew1985 12 Mar 2013 13:33:11 12,589 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Armoured_Bear wrote:
    mikew1985 wrote:
    Got an incorrect bill today from my provider.

    After getting them to make the necessary alterations, they also upgraded my connection from 120Mbps to 150Mbps.

    Crazyily over the top, but free upgrades are always a plus :D
    Where do you live?
    Dublin, It's UPC, only available in the more populated counties, although where I live isn't what you would call "densely populated".

    It's great though, it means nigh on instant delivery of games and media. I'll pull down an 8GB game from Steam in less time than it would take to install from a DVD.
  • Armoured_Bear 4 Apr 2013 11:34:06 10,274 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    spindizzy wrote:
    I live right in the centre of Geneva, Switzerland. I pay 80 GBP or so for my internet+Tv+phone. My internet connection is 5Mb down, 0.8 up. It's awful. I called to complain (I pay for 20Mb) and even helped the engineer pull a new line... no change.

    Edit: and my parent's place in rural france gets 30Mb or so, and costs way less.
    Who the hell are you with?
    Can't you get Cablecom?

    XBL : ecosse011172
    PSN : ecosse_011172
    NNID : armoured_bear

  • Armoured_Bear 4 Apr 2013 11:34:24 10,274 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago

    XBL : ecosse011172
    PSN : ecosse_011172
    NNID : armoured_bear

  • BTBAM 5 Apr 2013 19:37:55 1,553 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Just cancelled my EE account. They begged me to try everything to get it faster but I'm OUT and back with Be. Looking forward to being able to play FIFA while my girlfriend watches iPlayer on her laptop properly again
  • munki83 8 Apr 2013 18:20:37 1,397 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Just ordered fibreoptic from bt as it looks like I can get 33mb now. A huge step up from the 3 im on at the moment
  • Sid-Nice 11 Apr 2013 00:49:14 15,852 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I'm a bit disappointed with my Ping it didn't score anything.




    Edited by Sid-Nice at 00:51:09 11-04-2013

    NNID Sid-Nice

  • RobTheBuilder 11 Apr 2013 01:03:36 6,521 posts
    Seen 8 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Sid-Nice Change that to kb and it's about what I get...
  • Armoured_Bear 26 Apr 2013 09:41:25 10,274 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Cool, just ordered an upgrade to 150Mbps, only an extra quid a mont :-)

    XBL : ecosse011172
    PSN : ecosse_011172
    NNID : armoured_bear

  • THFourteen 26 Apr 2013 09:53:35 32,858 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Are you with Virgin? I can get almost 60mbps wired but their router is terrible and I can't get more than 25 with it on wifi.

    Don't suppose anyone can recommend a good cheap wifi router I can use?
  • mcmonkeyplc 26 Apr 2013 09:57:18 39,387 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    50mbps wired on Plus net about 40mbps wireless.

    Yet sometimes website load slower than dial up, but that's probably some DNS bullshit.

    Come and get it cumslingers!

  • Whizzo 26 Apr 2013 09:57:35 43,033 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    THFourteen wrote:Don't suppose anyone can recommend a good cheap wifi router I can use?
    Been using one of these since January, put Superhub in modem only mode and forget about its crappy wireless.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • THFourteen 26 Apr 2013 09:58:47 32,858 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Whizzo wrote:
    THFourteen wrote:Don't suppose anyone can recommend a good cheap wifi router I can use?
    Been using one of these since January, put Superhub in modem only mode and forget about its crappy wireless.
    I was looking at the tplink ones as they are dirt cheap, however a lot of the reviews said that they work fine for 3-6 months and then give up...
  • Whizzo 26 Apr 2013 10:00:42 43,033 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Well it's been fine for me, I bought it after one of my colleagues got one a few months earlier and it's still working as well.

    We've got the 20 quid one in the office to share an internet connection wirelessly and that's been working ok too.

    Edited by Whizzo at 10:01:21 26-04-2013

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • nickthegun 26 Apr 2013 10:05:50 58,784 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    THFourteen wrote:
    Are you with Virgin? I can get almost 60mbps wired but their router is terrible and I can't get more than 25 with it on wifi.

    Don't suppose anyone can recommend a good cheap wifi router I can use?
    Im in the same boat and got one of these:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-WA701ND-Wireless-Access-Point/dp/B002YETVVE/

    For the price, you absolutely cant fault it. Quick, good range... everything the shitty superhub isnt.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    He totally called it

  • nickthegun 26 Apr 2013 10:06:28 58,784 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Ah, yeah, mine is five months old, so it remains to be seen if it makes it to six.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    He totally called it

  • mcmonkeyplc 26 Apr 2013 10:06:49 39,387 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I used a TP link USB wifi adapter for my PC. Worked fine until I upgraded to windows 8 and then I kept getting random blue screens. Switched from wifi to wired network and no longer have the blue screens.

    It's probably a driver error but it's probably something worth considering if you have Win 8.

    Come and get it cumslingers!

  • Dougs 26 Apr 2013 10:10:41 66,671 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    One thing I didn't know until last week, was that (apparently) if you connect to wifi with a device that can only handle the lesser 802.11 standard (say b), the router is stuck outputting that speed/range until the next cycle. Something like that anyway.
  • Popzeus 26 Apr 2013 10:11:06 8,272 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    :(



    Saddest thing is that's about 1MBPS quicker than I've ever clocked it before.

    Currently playing: Standing In A Car Park Simulator 2013

  • nickthegun 26 Apr 2013 10:13:06 58,784 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Dougs wrote:
    One thing I didn't know until last week, was that (apparently) if you connect to wifi with a device that can only handle the lesser 802.11 standard (say b), the router is stuck outputting that speed/range until the next cycle. Something like that anyway.
    It depends on the router. More expensive ones can handle multiple standards for that exact reason.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    He totally called it

  • Page

    of 9 First / Last

Log in or register to reply