Netflix (US FAQ in OP) Page 58

  • Page

    of 80 First / Last

  • rare_uk 22 Jul 2012 21:20:11 3,575 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    reddevil93 wrote:
    You may have to delete the app then reinstall it on ps3, takes 5 minutes.
    Ok thanks for that will try it after Ferris Bueller, but can I ask one more question? Do I have to change the DNS on my router, or can I get away with just leaving the router alone, and just changing the DNS on my PS3?
  • Deleted user 22 July 2012 21:24:23
    leave the router alone
  • Dire 23 Jul 2012 00:27:44 1,357 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Dirtbox wrote:
    DNS has nothing to do with bandwidth, only the speed at which you can acquire a website, or if you can see it at all.

    And what do you mean bars? Are you talking about your wireless connection?
    Xbox 360 gives you a streaming strength signal while watching netflix
  • Dirtbox 23 Jul 2012 00:42:06 80,932 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Either way, your DNS is separate from your download speed.
  • effinjamie 2 Aug 2012 22:11:03 920 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    anyone else getting really shitty speeds using unblockUS?
    changed my DNS back and speeds increased
  • chopsen 2 Aug 2012 22:21:19 16,937 posts
    Seen 5 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    tunlr here. Doing fine. Change to them, it's just as easy.
  • CosmicFuzz 2 Aug 2012 22:53:25 28,265 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Unblock us is fine here. Just watching Friday night lights.
  • Dougs 2 Aug 2012 23:36:41 71,867 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Switched to Tunlr the other day, was a bit laggier than the Playmo TV DNS that I was using. Will test it tomorrow
  • Gruff 4 Aug 2012 11:21:49 3,060 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Warrior has been added to US.

    I thought it was a bit Clichéd, but I hear the young people love it.
  • CosmicFuzz 4 Aug 2012 11:26:20 28,265 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    It's good. But I enjoyed Real Steel more :D
  • OllyJ 4 Aug 2012 20:28:00 3,331 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Last days here has been added. Great documentary.
  • Dire 5 Aug 2012 02:16:06 1,357 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Dirtbox wrote:
    Either way, your DNS is separate from your download speed.
    probably just the location of the netflix us servers then. Using netflix UK get HD streaming no problem, with a nice clear image.

    Netflix US is very blurry and is worse than dvd quality. But not a big thing as I can put up with it seeing as it has loads more on offer than we get in the uk.
  • TarickStonefire 5 Aug 2012 14:34:45 3,921 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    I've been using Tunlr on my ATV2 for weeks now and US Netflix has been as sharp as it should be 85% of the time. Occasionally it goes super-fuzzy, way worse than DVD quality, for a few seconds but that usually coincides with a large download starting on my computer next door. Otherwise it's bloody fantastic. On O2 with 10meg actual speed to our router.
  • Dire 5 Aug 2012 22:47:53 1,357 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    on 60MB Virgin Media here, get nearly 1.8mb/s from steam/newgroups etc.. but US netflix not good, ho hum!
  • Gartt 6 Aug 2012 10:08:45 1,883 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Probably some issue in your network there, I'm on Virgin 60MB and hit HD quality in seconds with the US netflix on the xbox.

    Also, you should definately be getting faster speeds from Steam.
  • spindle9988 6 Aug 2012 11:30:07 3,804 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I am getting HD on us nestflix in seconds with Virgin. Playing games online is once again a laggy mess though
  • Dire 6 Aug 2012 23:56:39 1,357 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    what speeds to you get from steam if you dont mind me asking Gartt?
  • monkehhh 7 Aug 2012 00:00:57 3,794 posts
    Seen 26 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    60mbit/s = 7.5MB/s = 7680KB/s

    Steam usually absolutely rapes my connection (uses all my 100mbit/s).
  • Gartt 7 Aug 2012 11:43:03 1,883 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I usually get well over 7MB/s through steam.
  • Physically_Insane 7 Aug 2012 12:37:10 10,123 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Streams HD US Netflix fine on my 20MB Sky connection. Although, I am right next to the exchange, so I'm guessing that helps.
  • Dire 7 Aug 2012 15:37:57 1,357 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Right well I've put the dns settings into my xbox and boom. US Netflix is now running via HD :)

    Now on to find out how im only getting 2mb/s on a 60mb connection
  • TarickStonefire 10 Aug 2012 21:37:09 3,921 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    US Netflix isn't working right on our Apple TV using Tunlr. Most stuff says "not available to play instantly". It's showing us the US library but it's like it knows we aren't in the US when we go to play it.

    Never had this error before, usually we'll just get "netflix is not available right now" which I've just put down to a temporary problem with Tunlr.

    Anyone else got this?
  • beastmaster 10 Aug 2012 21:40:39 12,792 posts
    Seen 11 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I had something like this for half an hour a few days ago. It was very odd. All the film on there were things like Back to The Future, Beverly Hills Cop and a few others I'd not seen before.

    Got this message on a couple of films. I tried Silent Hill and it came on but dubbed in Spanish. Odd. I had to switch the ATV on and off a few times before it sorted itself out.
  • Slarti42 10 Aug 2012 21:44:40 71 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    @TarickStonefire getting the same thing on both 360 and ps3 but not, oddly, the phone or pc even though all go through the same router (with tunlr)
  • richardiox 10 Aug 2012 22:25:47 5,845 posts
    Seen 35 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Dire wrote:
    Right well I've put the dns settings into my xbox and boom. US Netflix is now running via HD :)

    Now on to find out how im only getting 2mb/s on a 60mb connection
    Using a Virgin Superhub by any chance? Im on a 60meg virgin service and was getting shitawful speeds, went into speedtest.net and ran some tests, max I was getting was 1.2mbs. Rang virgin said I'm not having that shit and got 3 months free. Also their tech team told me to try changing the Channel of the router - which worked. Now get much better speeds but still not the 60meg service I'm paying for. Also seem to have to change the router channel every couple of days as speed will drop down to
  • Gartt 11 Aug 2012 11:04:22 1,883 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Superhub is beyond rubbish, set it to modem mode and use another wireless router.
  • Gartt 11 Aug 2012 11:04:22 1,883 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    *double post*

    Edited by Gartt at 11:05:12 11-08-2012
  • Gruff 11 Aug 2012 15:24:27 3,060 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    New update on Xbox, you can search by person now.

    Much more civilised
  • Dire 11 Aug 2012 16:14:50 1,357 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    TarickStonefire wrote:
    US Netflix isn't working right on our Apple TV using Tunlr. Most stuff says "not available to play instantly". It's showing us the US library but it's like it knows we aren't in the US when we go to play it.

    Never had this error before, usually we'll just get "netflix is not available right now" which I've just put down to a temporary problem with Tunlr.

    Anyone else got this?
    I got this, xbox saying the same thing you mentioned, bit gutted as I had nearly finished watching season 5 of Numbers!
  • CosmicFuzz 11 Aug 2012 20:47:36 28,265 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Never had one problem with unblock us.
  • Page

    of 80 First / Last

Log in or register to reply