ARMA 3 Page 4

  • Page

    of 19 First / Last

  • magicpanda 5 Mar 2013 09:51:12 14,438 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    PC gamer preview

    1080p Warporn! Skip to about 2:30 for man shooting.

  • OldCrow 5 Mar 2013 10:22:28 148 posts
    Seen 3 weeks ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    1pm UK time it's out?
  • mikey808 5 Mar 2013 10:27:01 1 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    @magicpanda Thanks very much magicpanda! I'm buying this today :-)

    Edited by mikey808 at 10:27:38 05-03-2013
  • GreasyWeasel 5 Mar 2013 11:36:13 463 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Me too, looks great :)
  • GreasyWeasel 5 Mar 2013 13:02:21 463 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    "Closed for maintenance" followed by page unavailable. I guess there is more than just me trying to buy it ;)
  • El_MUERkO 5 Mar 2013 13:02:58 17,765 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    You can buy it now but the website is being DDOS'd by everyone trying to get on :D
  • El_MUERkO 5 Mar 2013 13:03:55 17,765 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago


  • El_MUERkO 5 Mar 2013 13:10:29 17,765 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    downloading :D
  • BillMurray 5 Mar 2013 13:17:03 8,681 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    15% of the way there. Hope this doesn't kill my PC. I've been having some worrying freezing on ARMA2 lately.
  • Deleted user 5 March 2013 14:03:12
    Took quite a bit of reloading because the site is overloaded, but just got my Steam code. \o/
  • urban 5 Mar 2013 14:24:06 11,994 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    How big is the download? I've bought it but it'll take me forever to download on my current connection. BT man is on his way for Friday!
  • Deleted user 5 March 2013 14:33:37
    @urban 5.4GB
  • urban 5 Mar 2013 14:43:44 11,994 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    That's not bad is it!

    Will be getting downloaded when I get home for sure.
  • GreasyWeasel 5 Mar 2013 15:04:28 463 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I've managed to purchase it but my download link says that the product purchase hasn't been found on my account even though you can see the order in my games. Off to support.
  • Deleted user 5 March 2013 15:09:07
    GreasyWeasel wrote:
    I've managed to purchase it but my download link says that the product purchase hasn't been found on my account even though you can see the order in my games. Off to support.
    It took 15-20 minutes after I paid via PayPal for my serial number to arrive via email.
  • GreasyWeasel 5 Mar 2013 15:12:48 463 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Guess I'll keep waiting and see what happens. I have just received my third purchase confirmation email with non working download link so I guess they still have a few issues.

    ps. Just checked to make sure I haven't paid three times ;)
  • orpheus 5 Mar 2013 16:00:20 1,735 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    By some miracle, I can actually afford this. Snapped it up on steam.
  • GreasyWeasel 5 Mar 2013 16:02:32 463 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Starting to wish I'd just got it directly on Steam so that I could actually start the download. BI's store seems completely borked now.
  • Rusty_M 5 Mar 2013 18:02:59 6,043 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Can't get into BI store, so Steam it is. I don't suppose it matters much to BI's bottom line where you buy it from.
  • orpheus 5 Mar 2013 18:53:22 1,735 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    4 people on my friends list on the game at this very moment... reports please! Enquiring minds (who can't download 'til later) want to know! :D
  • SuperBas 5 Mar 2013 19:14:33 1,641 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Clicked on the buy store from the arma3 site, got redirected to Steam. If they want me to buy through Steam, okay.
  • urban 5 Mar 2013 19:28:02 11,994 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Yeah same here, maybe they worked something out. Anyway it's actually 7.1Gb to download via steam.



    I'm excited to download it and not be able to play it because I made plans for every night this week bar Thursday

    Edited by urban at 19:34:33 05-03-2013
  • Rusty_M 5 Mar 2013 19:38:08 6,043 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    It says 7.1GB there, but then only 5.4 on the actual download progress screen.
  • urban 5 Mar 2013 19:54:16 11,994 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    @Rusty_M OK, but still handy to know for us SSD twerps. Disk space is premium!
  • magicpanda 5 Mar 2013 19:59:02 14,438 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    It's a massive improvement in every way imaginable.

    Entire villages with Interiors...

    Remote controlled man syndrome is a thing of the past. It feels much more responsive without losing simulation.


    Edited by magicpanda at 19:59:34 05-03-2013
  • Rusty_M 5 Mar 2013 21:28:49 6,043 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Heh. I didn't put it on my SSD. MAybe I should have, but loading doesn't seem too long to me, and there aren't many hitches I'd attribute to loading during gameplay.
  • Dirtbox Best Forumite, 2015 6 Mar 2013 08:55:58 86,516 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    magicpanda wrote:
    Remote controlled man syndrome is a thing of the past. It feels much more responsive without losing simulation.
    This is one of my main questions really, have they made the movement more... I'm not sure the best way to put it - Battlefieldy?
  • MMMarmite 6 Mar 2013 08:59:40 1,441 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Loading times seemed pretty quick for me (without SSD).

    One issue I did have was a nasty looking blue glow on all trees and grass, had to turned ATOC off in the video options to get it looking normal - probably my GTX 560 not compatible or something.

    The FPS also seemed quite low at high settings so had to turn it down to standard, this is on a stock i5-2500k, 8GB and GTX 560.

    Edited by MMMarmite at 09:00:43 06-03-2013
  • Dirtbox Best Forumite, 2015 6 Mar 2013 09:23:00 86,516 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    I wouldn't worry about that stuff, it's still very much alpha.
  • MMMarmite 6 Mar 2013 09:36:05 1,441 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    True, it still looks great at standard settings though.

    The movement felt different to ARMA 2 but I don't think I could really describe how. It seemed slower to turn, move & aim than BF3 on my machine with default control settings.
  • Page

    of 19 First / Last

Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.