ARMA 3 Page 7

  • Page

    of 18 First / Last

  • MikeP 9 Mar 2013 21:23:32 2,049 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    @Dirtbox What sort of spec do you have?

    PSN ID: Mikenetic

  • Ajay 9 Mar 2013 22:30:32 2,412 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    And thus begins, as does any Arma game, the odyssey of which of the myriad identically-named keys translates into the action you actually want to bind it to... for all that particular clunkiness it's reassuringly familiar.

    From my hour with it so far, menus perhaps notwithstanding, it's obvious they've really given it some polish now and it even runs better than I expected. I'll still likely end up upgrading, given the amount of time I'll be spending on this once it's out, mind.

    Been really looking forward to this - if the ol' Arma2 squad's putting the band back together then count me on board.
  • monkehhh 9 Mar 2013 22:42:35 3,477 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Need to sort out a new mouse with a working scroll wheel, and replace my ageing GTX260 (though it's still not doing bad with new stuff). Excellent work by Bohemia on this, it definitely feels a lot nicer. And I still die when I go near anything with a gun.
  • El_MUERkO 10 Mar 2013 02:43:33 17,126 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Vote this up, you'll thank me if they do as suggested!

    http://feedback.arma3.com/view.php?id=1682
  • Dirtbox 10 Mar 2013 04:01:17 78,899 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Good call, voted and commented.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Dirtbox 10 Mar 2013 04:02:02 78,899 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    captbirdseye wrote:
    Dirtbox wrote:
    My desktop cost about 500 to put together and it runs like butter
    .

    You getting a solid 60fps?
    Give or take, mostly give. It also seems like it's dependent on the mission, or where I am, the helicopter showcase mission is down to about 20 while in the base at the start, but it's 60+ when I'm flying about.

    It's basically a crap shoot that's less dependent on hardware and more interested in how many virgins you sacrifice to the rain god. Putting 800 down on a system to play an unoptimised game that isn't even out of alpha is stupid. No one, no matter what hardware they've got is getting a solid 60 across the board.




    MikeP wrote:
    @Dirtbox What sort of spec do you have?
    Posted them earlier. i5 36k (stock overclocked to 38k), 16gb, 570.

    Edited by Dirtbox at 04:23:00 10-03-2013

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Maturin 10 Mar 2013 10:20:51 3,160 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I'm running an i5 3570K at stock speeds, 16GB and 660ti. On standard setting (which looks great) I get over 70fps. If I set everything to ultra I get 40fps. That's at 1080p.

    For a game this early in development that seems fine to me.
  • superdelphinus 10 Mar 2013 10:40:13 8,125 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago


    Edited by superdelphinus at 10:40:47 10-03-2013
  • Robes 10 Mar 2013 12:42:31 149 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I realised turning post processing from high to standard makes a massive difference. Now it's extremely slick, far better than Arma 2 performance and looks wise.
  • Robes 10 Mar 2013 12:56:53 149 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I just had a look at the site, so apparently this island is tiny compared to the full game island (20km2 compared with 270km2). Is it likely that performance will reduce significantly on the larger island?
  • BillMurray 10 Mar 2013 13:46:58 7,868 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @urban What speed/make is this stuff?(couple of pages back)

    Edited by BillMurray at 13:47:33 10-03-2013
  • Dirtbox 10 Mar 2013 14:04:41 78,899 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Robes wrote:
    I just had a look at the site, so apparently this island is tiny compared to the full game island (20km2 compared with 270km2). Is it likely that performance will reduce significantly on the larger island?
    No. Even at the top settings the draw distance of the terrain is no further than 10km and is extremely low poly. It won't make any difference at all.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • urban 10 Mar 2013 14:34:01 11,037 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    @BillMurray

    Got my i5 750 up to 3.2ghz which has given me about 10 more frames

    Mobo: P55 UD-2
    Ram: 8 gig of 1333 corsair ( 7 7 7 24 OC)
    GFX: EVGA Nvidia GTX 480 1.5GB
    HDD: Corsair Force 3 SSD 240GB

    I'm getting about 30fps on standard 1920x1080 during the day and 70 fps at night.

    I get 20 fps on Ultra, game is so fucking beautiful there. Unplayable but beautiful.

    Edited by urban at 14:34:59 10-03-2013
  • BillMurray 10 Mar 2013 14:37:55 7,868 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @urban Sorry, meant to quote that big box of RAM you posted a few pages back :). I'm after a couple of sticks of RAM for my PC and was wondering what make/speed the RAM was.
  • Robes 10 Mar 2013 14:51:45 149 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Are the street lamps at night really dark for everyone else? Like practically non existant? But if you wear night vision goggles they are clearly on...
  • urban 10 Mar 2013 15:38:37 11,037 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    @BillMurray Oh it's a box of 4gb, as for make and speed I'd have to check tomorrow.
  • Fixxxer 10 Mar 2013 15:39:19 1,305 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Muzzle flashes aren't there either. I assume it's the same effect or something. It'll be fixed so nothing to worry about.

    And this game does indeed look lovely.
  • BillMurray 10 Mar 2013 15:42:05 7,868 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    @urban Smashing, thanks!
  • INSOMANiAC 10 Mar 2013 20:20:50 3,841 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Maybe its just me but I dont 'get it' the graphics arent that great, the voices are annoying and the way it puts a target in a red box is silly. I bought the game but I dont like it. Boohoo me.

    Steam - iN5OMANiAC
    PSN - iN5OMANiCAL

  • El_MUERkO 10 Mar 2013 22:40:26 17,126 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    @INSOMANiAC

    The graphics require tweaking to get what you want out of them, some favour detail over distance, clutter over FPS.

    The command voices are annoying but play missions solo or online and you wont hear them, they are infinitely better than ARMA2 though :)

    The red box is a difficulty setting, you can customise difficulty to have lots of visual aides or none at all.
  • BillMurray 10 Mar 2013 22:53:38 7,868 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Just go into audio options and whack down the VON slider if the audio commands from other players in your fireteam annoy you.
  • orpheus 10 Mar 2013 23:37:12 1,008 posts
    Seen 17 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    All the people claiming solid 60 fps, please post your draw distance settings. Without those, any benchmarks are utterly useless.
  • INSOMANiAC 11 Mar 2013 01:23:56 3,841 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    I had the game on Ultra with my 670GTX, V synch off and the draw distance at whatever it is at default and there is no way it was running at 60fps, Id estimate maybe 40 but Ive not used fraps on it

    Steam - iN5OMANiAC
    PSN - iN5OMANiCAL

  • INSOMANiAC 11 Mar 2013 01:38:13 3,841 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    SO I used fraps and It was a pretty steady 30 fps in dense forest occasionally dropping to 29, I reduced the draw distance and was getting 35fps still dropping to 29, I reduced the graphics from ultra to very high and still only getting 33fps? Who's getting 60??

    Im running it on a low resolution (1366x768)

    Steam - iN5OMANiAC
    PSN - iN5OMANiCAL

  • El_MUERkO 11 Mar 2013 02:27:32 17,126 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    This is Alpha and there is a lot of optimisation to do.

    Draw distance: The bigger it is the more objects on screen and thus geometry to render.

    Post Processing: Makes things look nice but the Motion Blur effect is a killer, turn off Post Processing or use a no-blur mod such as http://forums.bistudio.com/showthread.php?148644-NoBlur which gets rid of blur but leaves the other effects, some have gotten a 10fps bump from this.

    AI puts a strain on your CPU and in bigger battles the combination of AI and ballistics maths can strain the most powerful of PCs.

    I've got a Q9550 & HD6970 and look to get a stable 30fps & 2560*1600 with a 2k object draw distance.

    Considering your card and resolution I'm surprised your getting low frames but then if your draw distance is to big you might have a bottleneck elsewhere.

    It'd also be worth searching the ARMA forums for your card to see if anyone else is having issues.
  • Dirtbox 11 Mar 2013 03:01:30 78,899 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Getting annoyed with all the framerate bollocks in this thread, it'll run on a geforce 8800 if you turn the settings down and it still looks great, but graphics aren't everything and the game isn't nearly finished yet, so no one is getting consistent performance.

    Edited by Dirtbox at 03:04:37 11-03-2013

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Phattso Moderator 11 Mar 2013 03:22:29 13,803 posts
    Seen 11 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Is there a fixed release date for this, or are they playing the "when it's ready" card?
  • magicpanda 11 Mar 2013 09:15:44 13,459 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Can you use missions made in the editor in multiplayer at the moment?
  • Dirtbox 11 Mar 2013 09:24:43 78,899 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Yes, you can. You have to host the game, but that isn't an issue unless your internet is balls.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • urban 11 Mar 2013 11:33:53 11,037 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    @Phattso More like a fixed year, 2013 is all they've said.
  • Page

    of 18 First / Last

Log in or register to reply