The 'Random questions that don't warrant their own threads' thread - part 2 Page 36

  • Page

    of 58 First / Last

  • Doomspoon 3 Mar 2013 15:01:38 2,490 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    PC issue ahoy.

    I've been having sharp framerate drop and minor freezes in various games for the last week or so. I think I may have updated AMD drivers as recently as last week as well as having the odd Win 7 automatic update applied over the last few days.

    I'm running:
    ASUS M5A78L-M LX V2
    AMD 960T 3.GHz
    8GB RAM
    Sapphire HD 6870 1GB

    I haven't enabled Asus' Turbo Key or the CPU Overdrive on it.
    I have Overdrive enabled on the graphics card but I haven't tweaked it so it's running stock settings. No extra cores unlocked. Checked for malware etc.

    Browsing and chat is fine. It's just in game, I first noticed it in TF2 thinking it was that but got it yesterday in Serious Sam 2. My girlfriend was playing WoW on it this morning so I ran Fraps. She was getting 89FPS idling and dips down to around 25FPS just flying around and farming. When the framerate drops I can hear one of the fans spin up faster momentarily.

    I've had none of the framerate drops until this week.

    I've opened the case, removed some dust from the fans and heatsink which admittedly there was quite a lot of. I'm about to uninstall and reinstall the AMD drivers. I'd read some time back when there's performance issues it's worth running Driver Sweeper, I've since read it's no longer being updated, is it still worth downloading and running it?

    Is it worth my while getting more recent chipset and utility downloads from the ASUS site? I'm a bit paranoid about installing a newer BIOS update, is this paranoia unfounded?

    I'll be grateful for sensible responses, thanks.

    Edited by Doomspoon at 15:03:04 03-03-2013
  • Rens11 3 Mar 2013 15:59:45 1,417 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Try using MSI overdrive and enabling the frame limiter. The new AMD drivers are much better aswell

    Dont kid yourself, Jimmy. If a cow ever got the chance, hed eat you and everyone you care about!

  • RelaxedMikki 24 Mar 2013 22:38:29 935 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Has anybody ever changed the bulged out capacitors in a misbehaving LG LCD TV?

    I have an LG TV that no longer turns on properly. Apparently it is not an unusual situation in a 5 year old LG TV. The solution is to replace the 'bulging' capacitors in PCB.

    I have taken the back off the telly and I can see the capacitors that are bulging. The circuit board is easy to remove and I can see the problem capcitors. The replacement parts are available for 13 on the internet, but I have not done any soldering for 20 years.

    Do you reckon I can replace the capacitors, with next to no experience, but with a failrly steady hand and the help of a YouTube video?

    EDIT: The TV is our family living room telly and I am too skint to get it replaced. So I really need to do it myself if I can...

    Edited by RelaxedMikki at 22:48:48 24-03-2013
  • mal 24 Mar 2013 23:10:27 22,683 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I'd recommend buying some veroboard and a few cheap resistors and wotnot and doing some practice first, but yeah, doesn't sound like a particularly tricky job. Worth doing, especially if the thing doesn't even turn on as is.

    A couple of tips - for something that new it's important to get new lead-free solder, since you can't mix the two. Worth getting a fresh tip if you're using an old soldering iron. Oh, and that old soldering iron probably won't get hot enough to melt lead-free solder, so you may as well get a new one. RoHS regulations were adopted around 2003-ish, so if your soldering iron is newer than that it's probably fine (though you may still have trouble getting it hot enough if it was cheap in the first place).

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • RelaxedMikki 25 Mar 2013 01:17:57 935 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    @mal Thanks for the reply. The TV doesn't even turn on anymore (after getting slower and slower to power up over a few months), so it's got to be worth a shot.

    Yes - I was definately planning on having a practice first - I have an old broken radio that I will test my eye on.

    I didn't know about the lead-free solder - I will look into that. I am not sure how old the iron I am borrowing is - will check that it gets hot enough.

    Wish me luck!

    Edited by RelaxedMikki at 01:18:48 25-03-2013
  • mal 25 Mar 2013 01:55:34 22,683 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    G'luck!

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • RelaxedMikki 29 Mar 2013 13:23:56 935 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Woo hoo! Get in there! You beauty!

    I did it!

    Ordered the replacement capacitors from a chap in Stoke who was selling them on eBay, borrowed my uncle's soldering iron, and went for it.

    Removed 4 bulging capacitors, replaced them with the new ones (with the help of some pretty messy looking solder work) and 'Hey Presto' the dead family telly has been resurrected.

    Thanks for the moral support mal. Saved myself 100 pounds there - I'm well chuffed!
  • Psychotext 29 Mar 2013 13:36:51 54,391 posts
    Seen 7 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Satisfying. I have a monitor in the same condition that I should really get around to fixing.
  • billythekid 29 Mar 2013 14:20:47 11,195 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I did the same thing on my Samsung TV, it's fairly straightforward, if I'd have seen your post earlier one thing I would have mentioned is to leave the tv unplugged for a good while before you open it up to make sure any caps are discharged.
  • Folant 29 Mar 2013 14:35:07 1,343 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Phone question.

    Couple of weeks and I can upgrade my contract.
    Looking at the website and tariff/handset options and prices, the tariff I want, the handset is 430.
    Buying the phone outright is 500.
    Now obviously I'm gonna try and negotiate a better price over the phone with them, but if I can't I'm thinking of going on a sim only contract and buy the handset PAYG.
    Both from the same provider, so I assume using the contract sim in the PAYG phone would work fine, but figured I'd ask to make sure.

    Wouldn't be any issues, right?

    Posted from my Nexus 4, not using Tapatalk 4.

  • mal 29 Mar 2013 14:43:23 22,683 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Yeah, phones are locked to provider in my experience, and the bill is tied to the sim. Shouldn't matter to the phone whether it's a PAYG, sim only or standard contract SIM, unless things have changed recently, and it shouldn't matter what phone you use as far as your sim only contract is concerned.

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • Folant 29 Mar 2013 15:09:15 1,343 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Right on.

    Thought so but thought I should clarify before I go ahead with anything.

    Cheers fella!

    Posted from my Nexus 4, not using Tapatalk 4.

  • Psychotext 3 Apr 2013 13:18:39 54,391 posts
    Seen 7 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I really, really want to see Sir Patrick Stewart act on stage before he retires / gets too old. Is there any way of finding out what people are currently starring in / where?
  • Matt36 3 Apr 2013 13:20:30 1,386 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Girlfriend doesnt have a tv in her flat and im spending a lot of time here whilst shes unwell. Can i play my 360 through a laptop??
  • Psychotext 3 Apr 2013 13:23:09 54,391 posts
    Seen 7 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    No, unless it's got AV in... which it wont. Or you buy a USB AV-In adaptor, and you wont want to do that, because they're shit.

    Now answer my question. :)
  • Psychotext 3 Apr 2013 14:47:37 54,391 posts
    Seen 7 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Just found out that he'll be on Broadway doing "Waiting for Godot" this Autumn. Now I need to find some money!
  • Matt36 4 Apr 2013 02:12:47 1,386 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Twitter ;)
  • mal 6 Apr 2013 03:25:56 22,683 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    How are you meant to pronounce Palahniuk? Pallar-knee-uck?

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • Deleted user 6 April 2013 03:31:48
    Paul Ah Nick.
  • mal 6 Apr 2013 04:08:58 22,683 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Ah, cheers Gremmster!

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • Matt36 21 Apr 2013 15:55:41 1,386 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Interview on Wednesday. Its a formal shortlisting interview session - no dress code where im to express myself in whatever way i wish...for CEX.

    Do I still wear shirt & tie?
  • Megapocalypse 21 Apr 2013 15:58:33 5,465 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Yes
  • Matt36 21 Apr 2013 15:59:13 1,386 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Thought so. Thanks!
  • mal 22 Apr 2013 00:01:16 22,683 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Since when did new-school view stop being the default view? Just logged in from a new computer, and I was surprised that http://www.eurogamer.com/forum gave me the old-school view.

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • FWB 22 Apr 2013 00:14:53 44,833 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    You can never overdress for an interview so no matter what it is, suit up. If during the process you realise it's more relaxed, then you can get your pee pee out and place it in a hotdog bun on the table.
  • Matt36 22 Apr 2013 10:28:30 1,386 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    @FWB Little weird, but I'll keep it in mind ;)
  • Sharzam 22 Apr 2013 12:24:17 2,996 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Indeed no such thing as to formal.

    Here I'd one though, I have an internal interview so already know company Iam conflicted.

    Known as 'Sharzam' in 98.5% of games

  • chopsen 22 Apr 2013 12:37:06 16,125 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    If humans had tails, do you think we would have evolved to wear clothes that would cover it up (like say your naughty bits), or would it be a part of the body we would leave exposed (like your face)?

    Edited by Chopsen at 12:37:37 22-04-2013
  • Salaman 22 Apr 2013 13:31:30 19,242 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Exposed
  • L_Franko Moderator 22 Apr 2013 13:44:14 9,694 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    It would have become another part of the body to decorate.
  • Page

    of 58 First / Last

Log in or register to reply