Xbox 360 Data Transfer Cable Thingy

  • Page

    of 7 First / Last

    Previous
  • thefilthandthefury 1 Oct 2009 09:14:12 24,983 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I'm (finally!) upgrading my Xbox 360 Premium to an Elite - I need that HDMI port and huge hard drive damnit!

    Anyway, is it still possible to obtain the Data Transfer Cable anywhere? Had an offer to borrow one from DUFFMAN5, which is great, but if it's still possible to grab one from the source then I'll go for that.

    Fankoo.
  • psychokitten Moderator 1 Oct 2009 09:14:53 7,794 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    You can request it from MS, if you're upgrading to an Elite, there's a form on their site to fill in. Could take a few weeks though.
  • thefilthandthefury 1 Oct 2009 09:16:19 24,983 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Hmm, weeks you say? Not ideal then. I'll probably just go with DUFFMAN's offer if that's the case.

    Lazy bastards :p
  • psychokitten Moderator 1 Oct 2009 09:18:32 7,794 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Yeah, mine took about 3 weeks IIRC, maybe they're quicker these days, who knows. It wouldn't be a few days in any case, so worth borrowing one.
    Inquisitor still has mine, the bast. Not that I need it anymore.
  • trav 1 Oct 2009 09:18:57 930 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Got one at home somewhere you can use if I find it.
  • thegamesthething 1 Oct 2009 09:21:47 1,079 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Mine came in about 4 days (nov 2008).

  • thefilthandthefury 1 Oct 2009 09:42:35 24,983 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Hmm... do you need to have already bought the Elite or can I order the cable in advance?

    I can't really check at work - EG is pushing it as it is!
  • Lutz 1 Oct 2009 09:43:34 48,854 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    IIRC you need the elite as you need the serial code.
  • Lotos8ter 1 Oct 2009 10:02:40 2,353 posts
    Seen 27 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    And make a note of your current console's serial number in case you need that before/if you trade it in.
    Other than that its really straightforward.

    Fiat Lux

  • thegamesthething 1 Oct 2009 10:06:12 1,079 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    When you do the transfer, it will wipe anything already on the Elite, so best to not start using the Elite until you have the cable, or at least not play anything you want to save.

    I think.
  • thefilthandthefury 1 Oct 2009 10:11:12 24,983 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Okie dokie, thanks for the help! Sounds like I might just borrow DUFFMAN's cable. Can't be arsed waiting around and whatnot - I'm an impatient man!
  • thefilthandthefury 1 Oct 2009 10:21:57 24,983 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Good plan! Can't hurt to have it at home - you never know when I or someone else will need it.
  • triarii 7 Oct 2009 15:28:22 297 posts
    Seen 6 days ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Do you have to phone MS to request one? I've been looking for ages & can't find this form... Alternatively, who wants to lend me one? : )
  • BartonFink 18 Oct 2009 00:03:24 34,851 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    The form is up on the xbox.com website.

    Anyhew I will be getting my Elite on 10th Nov

    Anybody care to loan me one?

    Will order one when I get the Elite. However like thefilthandthefurry it would be nice to have it to do the transfer when it arrives rather than waiting on MS.
  • Deleted user 18 October 2009 00:30:57
    I heard they were rendered useless after the first complete use, but that could be bullshit.
  • Deleted user 18 October 2009 00:32:26
    thegamesthething wrote:
    When you do the transfer, it will wipe anything already on the Elite, so best to not start using the Elite until you have the cable, or at least not play anything you want to save.

    I think.
    It will indeed wipe the newer hard drive and copy the older hard drive then wipe the older hard drive - so if you want to play on your new console for now then plug the old hard drive into it.

    Have you done all the license transferral stuff yet? Tedious but necessary.
  • daz_john_smith 18 Oct 2009 02:38:40 1,636 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    MrED209 wrote:
    thegamesthething wrote:
    When you do the transfer, it will wipe anything already on the Elite, so best to not start using the Elite until you have the cable, or at least not play anything you want to save.

    I think.
    It will indeed wipe the newer hard drive and copy the older hard drive then wipe the older hard drive - so if you want to play on your new console for now then plug the old hard drive into it.

    Have you done all the license transferral stuff yet? Tedious but necessary.

    Are you entirely sure about that?

    When I bought my 120GB HDD and did the transfer all the Demos and XBLA trials that came on the new HDD were still there even after I had transferred the contents of my old 20GB HDD across.

    The old 20GB HDD will definitely be wiped though.
  • Deleted user 18 October 2009 06:19:28
    Pretty sure I'm paraphrasing from the wee booklet that comes with the cable - both drives are wiped in the process. Could be wrong but I strongly recall that being the case.
  • BabyJesus 18 Oct 2009 07:35:53 4,412 posts
    Seen 9 months ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I got mine in 10 days. A few weeks ago.
  • Deleted user 18 October 2009 08:29:50
    I'd post mine over but I thought he already had one.
  • BabyJesus 18 Oct 2009 08:33:36 4,412 posts
    Seen 9 months ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    MrED209 wrote:
    Pretty sure I'm paraphrasing from the wee booklet that comes with the cable - both drives are wiped in the process. Could be wrong but I strongly recall that being the case.

    Yeah everything apart from the pre-loaded content on the new drive(I.E trials for arcade games) is wiped.
  • BartonFink 18 Oct 2009 15:51:11 34,851 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    So anybody want to loan me one pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease
  • Deleted user 18 October 2009 15:57:03
    BartonFink wrote:
    So anybody want to loan me one pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease
    Yeah alright, I'll send you my cable, disc and manual. PM me your address. Bear in mind that because the money-grabbing cunts at the Royal Mail seem to think that they deserve a pay rise even though everyone else is getting pay cuts, it may not be with you in the next week...
  • agparrot 18 Oct 2009 16:02:57 11,903 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    triarii wrote:
    Do you have to phone MS to request one? I've been looking for ages & can't find this form... Alternatively, who wants to lend me one? : )

    Did you ever get one? I've received mine back from Albion - there is another thread about this somewhere I think, and will happily send it on if you still need it.
  • BartonFink 18 Oct 2009 18:40:49 34,851 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    MrED209 wrote:
    BartonFink wrote:
    So anybody want to loan me one pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease
    Yeah alright, I'll send you my cable, disc and manual. PM me your address. Bear in mind that because the money-grabbing cunts at the Royal Mail seem to think that they deserve a pay rise even though everyone else is getting pay cuts, it may not be with you in the next week...
    \o/ Thanks a mill I will cover the cost of postage.
  • wayneh 18 Oct 2009 19:57:58 2,311 posts
    Seen 25 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    I should get my new super elite on Nov 10th any one got a spare kit they can lend me?

    Act like a dumbshit and they will treat you as an equal

  • Slurmseh 18 Oct 2009 19:59:54 2,336 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I'm in the same boat, getting the MW2 elite so I'd like to be able to transfer my data on the day.
  • K1LLEGAL 18 Oct 2009 21:54:38 13 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Hey guys, I am in the same situation aswell with a deposit down on the MW2 elite so if anyone has a spare cable I would be extremely grateful if you could send it my way! :)
  • daz_john_smith 18 Oct 2009 22:03:42 1,636 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Will the current Transfer Kits work with 250GB HDDs?
  • Page

    of 7 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply