Problems with PSN tonight?

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • banjoted 29 Nov 2008 21:52:04 1,500 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Just been playing some COD4 and thought I'd give online a try, but can't log in. Anyone else having issues?
  • Deleted user 29 November 2008 21:53:10
    Couldn't log in earlier but then tried again and was okay.
  • banjoted 29 Nov 2008 21:57:34 1,500 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Rebooted and can now sign in, but having trouble locating other players. What should my NAT settings be? Had a PS3 since launch but never bothered with online - always use Xbox Live.
  • Deleted user 29 November 2008 21:58:57
    NAT settings should ideally be set to 2, if they are set to 3 it fucks up, it affects voice comms. and I have found some games won't even allow you online.
  • banjoted 29 Nov 2008 22:01:55 1,500 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Just looked and it's on Type2 already. Hmmmm. Might try COD onne more time. It's World at War, not COD4, incidentally.
  • Deleted user 29 November 2008 22:03:37
    What I mentioned is a general thing so it will apply to most if not all games. It may be the COD servers causing problems then.
  • banjoted 29 Nov 2008 22:05:28 1,500 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    What about the UNCP setting thing or whatever it is? Fuck - I feel like such a fuckwit. Set up all my wireless stuff so long ago I can't even remember what it all means. I've degenerated technologically.
  • Deleted user 29 November 2008 22:07:10
    UNCP??????

    No idea on that sorry. Been ages since I played a PS3 game on line to be honest.
  • banjoted 29 Nov 2008 22:09:36 1,500 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Maybe it was UNUP. Or UPCP. One of the the online settings. To do with something. God, I'm a cretin. Anyway, I remember on the connections setting it was Disabled.
  • Deleted user 29 November 2008 22:11:43
    UPNP? mine is enabled. I think is it may have something to do with Peer to Peer. But I guess it needs enabling some how.
  • oldschoolsoviet 29 Nov 2008 22:18:02 5,552 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    UPnP. Basically the automatic thingy for routers talking to each other to check the right ports are open. Or something.

    I've had issues over the past couple of days too, friends list only half loading, loading without the lil' pics, without the "last sign in" times etc. I'm blaming the US, and Thanksgiving holidays meself, because I can.
  • gohda 29 Nov 2008 22:21:17 6,642 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I've had people's pics not loading as well!

    o/
  • wantafanta 29 Nov 2008 22:59:24 91 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Aslong as you have NAT Type 2, you have nothing to worry about. NAT Type 3 will (as said) affect your comms. UPNP (Universal Plug and Play), yes is a router thing. If you have NAT Type 2 it should be enabled, either way, this won't matter to you.

    - PS3 NAT Type 2 Tutorial. PSN goes down now and again. It happens.
  • oldschoolsoviet 30 Nov 2008 01:38:11 5,552 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    "****** is online"......."offline"......"online"......

    Everybody's been struggling tonight. Maybe it's the cold, icy weather freezing up the internets.
  • BartonFink 30 Nov 2008 01:42:34 35,126 posts
    Seen 17 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Yea was on the Home beta tonight and having all sorts of problems
  • andijames 30 Nov 2008 01:55:43 2,839 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Think they're tweaking the network settings due to home? First time they've had quite a load on the servers.

    vivir el momento

  • banjoted 30 Nov 2008 12:07:30 1,500 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    OK, cool. Thanks for all your help guys.
  • kentmonkey 2 Dec 2008 09:13:25 20,930 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Is the store slow as anything for everyone else? It's downloading a MB in about 40 seconds, when it usually takes about 6 seconds.

    Router speeds are (left is downstream, right is upstream):
    Connection Speed 1576 kbps 393 kbps
    Line Attenuation 62.5 db 44.3 db
    Noise Margin 7.8 db 8.5 db
  • Deleted user 2 December 2008 09:14:57
    It comes and goes for me. Sometimes rapid, sometimes it's like 1996 again.
  • kentmonkey 2 Dec 2008 09:27:51 20,930 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I've never had it this slow, but yes earlier it went up to about 1mb/6seconds, it's now doing 1mb/10 seconds, but I know it'll jump up to 1mb/72 seconds (worse it's been so far) any minute now.

    Doesn't normally do this.
  • ccfb 4 Dec 2008 18:57:53 337 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    And tonight. Seems it's impossible to download the new firmware at the moment.
  • Deleted user 4 December 2008 18:58:45
    I had trouble few nights back as well. I downloaded it on my laptop and put it on a SD card.
  • ccfb 4 Dec 2008 19:07:16 337 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Sadly, the web page seems affected too. Is there a mirror site I can grab the update from anyone?
  • morriss 5 Dec 2008 18:46:03 71,286 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I can't log in. Anyone else having the same problem?
  • kentmonkey 5 Dec 2008 18:52:55 20,930 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I couldn't last night either. It's gone to total shit the past week.
  • morriss 5 Dec 2008 18:54:28 71,286 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    getting on my tits.
  • Deleted user 5 December 2008 18:59:19
    Yep same problem here. Can't log in at all.
  • kentmonkey 5 Dec 2008 18:59:57 20,930 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Same here. I've got a game through to review that I need to take online. I can't because of their absolutely shitty service.

    I tried downloading a demo this week. It was taking 72s/1mb. It usually takes about 6s/1mb. I assume it's Home, but they need to sort it out fast.
  • ilmaestro 5 Dec 2008 19:01:59 32,537 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Haven't bothered trying as I can't be arsed to update the firmware again after just finally updating a few days ago.

    4235

  • morriss 5 Dec 2008 19:04:00 71,286 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    :)

    This is living!
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply