Virgin Media issues Page 10

  • Page

    of 19 First / Last

  • spamdangled 14 Feb 2012 22:57:39 27,276 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    meggsy wrote:
    Just about back for me.

    Also my dad received an email announcing the doubling of speed, which was shortly followed by an apology "oh we're sorry, no, not for you where you are"
    I got that email, and the apology.

    Then the very next day I got something in the post telling me that I am being upgraded from 20mb to 60mb, completely free, by the end of the year.

    3DS: 4055-2781-2855 Xbox: spamdangled PSN: dark_morgan Wii U: Spamdangle Steam: spamdangled

  • meggsy 14 Feb 2012 23:00:20 1,628 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Hmm seems to have settled here for me.

    That upgrade sounds good, mine is just piggybacked off bt so there's little chance of speeds changing. It is unlimited though and fairly cheap.

    3DS: 3454-0647-5991

  • monkehhh 14 Feb 2012 23:21:54 3,294 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    'Richard Branson' says they'll be upgrading me from 50 to 100 sometime from July. Rang up today to ditch their TV and phone and just keep the broadband, the price increases meaning I can cancel my current contract without any fees. The retentions girl on the phone didn't seem to understand this and said I would have to pay, got confirmation from Virgin's online support folks that she was wrong. Will ring back tomorrow :)

    Edited by monkehhh at 23:22:16 14-02-2012
  • monkehhh 15 Feb 2012 17:05:00 3,294 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Talked enough to annoy the woman at Virgin in to offering to pay the cost of the increase until the end of my contract, result!
  • localnotail 15 Feb 2012 17:07:16 23,093 posts
    Seen 6 months ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    If you are on 20, don't upgrade to 30, they are upgrading 20 and 30 to 60.

    Also, there is an unpublicised basic freeview-like TV package that costs about 8 less than the M version. But you have to ask for it.

    A strange game. The only winning move is not to play.

  • monkehhh 15 Feb 2012 17:36:12 3,294 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    I'm on the M (not M+ and is very freeview-y), which I don't think you can get normally - they gave me it at my last contract 'negotiation' as I wanted to get rid of the TV altogether, but they offered me the M for free. Seems like they'll do anything they can to keep you signed up to broadband, phone and TV - even if it means giving stuff away. My 50 goes up to 100 sometime this year :)
  • localnotail 15 Feb 2012 17:45:45 23,093 posts
    Seen 6 months ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    yes, that's probably it. I forgot the M they advertise is probably M+

    A strange game. The only winning move is not to play.

  • Dirtbox 20 Feb 2012 13:18:00 77,686 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I'd like to relay a positive story about Virgin's customer support today.

    I called them regarding my net being intermittent lately and expected NTL level support. Instead I spoke to two excellent technicians who knew their craft. While they couldn't sort the problem from their end, are sending an engineer who will be here tomorrow.

    Impressed tbh, I expected to be palmed off with the usual switch it on and off shit.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • monkehhh 20 Feb 2012 14:20:22 3,294 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    When things have broken for me they've generally been great, the last engineer that came round gave me his mobile number in case anything broke again and had a chat about Gears of War. Or he was coming on to me.
  • Deleted user 20 February 2012 14:24:06
    ...


    When we get free upgrade anyway. :/
  • cowell 20 Feb 2012 15:26:50 691 posts
    Seen 35 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Virgin Media website can tell you when its rolling out in your postcode.

    My 30 is going up to 50 in July supposedly. I'm generally happy with the service I get in South London, but the quality of the service varies from area to area. Most of my colleagues live in Brighton and speeds during peak are horrific apparently. From this and other stories I've heard, it seems like they oversell past capacity in some areas and then when people start to scream loud enough, they then upgrade the network to cope with the volume, rather than having it the other way round.
  • Deleted user 16 March 2012 14:44:28
    FUCKING FUCK!!
  • S.J.Rogers 16 Mar 2012 14:45:33 3,557 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    What..?
  • S.J.Rogers 16 Mar 2012 14:46:30 3,557 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Also Virgin Media has been playing up for me for 6 months now.(Long story for another time).
  • Deleted user 16 March 2012 15:02:14
    Ah great it finally seems to be working properly again. No net for 24 hours sucked. I want a free upgrade. Or something.
  • ReGuRgIt8oR 2 Apr 2012 10:17:24 2,600 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Query re upgrading my VM Broadband package.

    I want to upgrade to the 100 mb pack and am being asked to pay 50 for engineer installation visit. This includes the "superhub". I want to keep using my existing router but the VM man on the phone says I've got to pay for the superhub and use it. Ok I accept I may have to pay for it but do you really have to use it ? Is the superhub just a router or does it include the cable modem too ?

    As far as I know my current router is fully up to the job and as I've spent ages getting to know it and it's inner workings that I want to keep using it.

    Or can I just switch off wireless on the superhub and patch it straight into my existing router and carry on as before ?

    Ta.
  • X201 2 Apr 2012 10:25:07 15,259 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    You can use "Modem only mode" and just use it as a modem, rather than a modem/router/wifi jobbie.


    http://bit.ly/HCtzuK

    Edited by X201 at 11:05:36 02-04-2012
  • ReGuRgIt8oR 2 Apr 2012 10:36:04 2,600 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Thanks X201.

    So it is a combined Cable Modem and Router then - therefore it makes sense that I have to have it. Good to hear that I can run it in modem only mode (although your link doesn'e seem to work - but I'll trust you on it).

    Ta.
  • X201 2 Apr 2012 10:59:20 15,259 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Not sure what's happening with the linking, I'm logged out.

    Try their help page and type "Modem Mode" in the search.
  • Psychotext 2 Apr 2012 11:00:22 53,936 posts
    Seen 7 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I'm using mine in modem mode, it's much better.
  • figgis 2 Apr 2012 11:27:01 7,376 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I think i'll try that tonight, got a cheap router from ebuyer for 16 that was much better than the 'super' hub. i.e. Doesn't fall over when more than two connections go through it.
  • robthehermit 12 Apr 2012 22:23:29 4,036 posts
    Seen 7 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    My broadband is down. The ever helpful bell ends at Virgin have told me it should be fixed in about 2 weeks. Wankers.

    GT: robthehermit

    Velim esset mundus iustus futuis procul et mori.

  • neosalad 23 Apr 2012 17:21:33 953 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Anyone else on virgin media? That has access to the forum by other means.Lol. Mine went off about 15:45 and haven't been able to get any internet service at all.
  • neosalad 23 Apr 2012 17:23:07 953 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Anyone else on virgin media? I'm in newcastle, Mine went off about 15:45 while using iplayer on the 360 and haven't been able to get any internet service at all since. Tried rebooting the router modem a few times. Nothing on consoles or on the pc. :-/
  • Dirtbox 23 Apr 2012 17:25:10 77,686 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Broadband/ct-p/Broadband

    Not that it'll help much, if it's anything like the outages I get, it's some brainless paddy putting his shovel through the cable.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • localnotail 23 Apr 2012 17:26:06 23,093 posts
    Seen 6 months ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Service status?

    A strange game. The only winning move is not to play.

  • neosalad 23 Apr 2012 17:42:15 953 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Just spoke to some1 in india (i think) and he checked for me. Said it is down in my area NE6 and should be back about 20:31.... Which means i'll be a bit late for halo monday. ;-(
  • Scurrminator 14 May 2012 21:19:43 8,395 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Down in Warwick. Lame

    You dare to strike Scurrcules!?

  • neosalad 15 Jun 2012 21:12:54 953 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Had no internet since about 13:00 today in newcastle area. Status page said it would be back at 19:30 but it's still not working. ;-( status page says it's working... It lies!!! Argh! Looks like no halo for me tonight!
  • monkehhh 15 Jun 2012 21:41:09 3,294 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Sorting out my move, as usual the website isn't amazing and the people on the phone are helpful enough when "your new address doesn't exist, so we'll send someone out to check it does", but the engineer blokes are seemingly all decent round here - got various mobile numbers for people I've dealt with who are all helpful. I will set myself on fire if they try to give me a Superhub though..
  • Page

    of 19 First / Last

Log in or register to reply