x264 on the 360?

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • BravoGolf Moderator 6 Sep 2007 20:36:05 12,740 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Does the 360 support or play the x264 codec? I have some great h/x 264 info that would love to play on the projector :)
  • Euronymous 6 Sep 2007 21:57:52 95 posts
    Seen 7 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    As far as i know, the x264 codec isn't supported/playable. Don't quote me on it though as i may well be wrong. :)
  • Calgon 6 Sep 2007 21:59:22 531 posts
    Seen 9 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Post deleted
  • BravoGolf Moderator 6 Sep 2007 22:29:51 12,740 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Darn :(

    /Cancels Planet Earth download
  • silentbob 6 Sep 2007 23:16:37 28,956 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    CrispyXUK wrote:
    Not playable in WMP either, Microsoft are slacking here the cunts.
    Yes it is. Install Core AVC.

    VR News: www.roadtovr.com -- Follow us on Twitter.

  • Deleted user 6 September 2007 23:17:15
    If you have Media Centre, use Transcode 360.
  • morriss 6 Sep 2007 23:22:39 70,920 posts
    Seen 14 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Gremmi wrote:
    If you have Media Centre, use Transcode 360.

    Gremmi.
  • Santino 6 Sep 2007 23:23:12 399 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I use connect360 from my imac and it plays my dvd mp4 rips using the h.264 codec fine, i also attached my external HDD directly via usb and it can play all those files fine. The 360 had to perform and optional download first to enable it though but it only took 2 secs.
  • silentbob 6 Sep 2007 23:32:37 28,956 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    disc wrote:
    BravoGolf wrote:
    Does the 360 support or play the x264 codec? I have some great h/x 264 info that would love to play on the projector :)

    There is no x264 codec. It is a free encoder that is usually used on pirate Bluray/HDDVD releases but the codec that they use is H264 and that is certainly supported.
    That was needlessly anal, even by my standards.

    Well done. :)

    VR News: www.roadtovr.com -- Follow us on Twitter.

  • warlockuk 6 Sep 2007 23:45:42 19,142 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I wish there was a transcoder that worked with XP :(

    Basts.

    I'm a grumpy bastard.

  • silentbob 6 Sep 2007 23:55:10 28,956 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    To be fair, VC1/WMV9 is a darned good CODEC. And yes you're right.

    VR News: www.roadtovr.com -- Follow us on Twitter.

  • Deleted user 13 November 2008 23:16:25
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 13 November 2008 23:16:25
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 13 November 2008 23:16:25
    Post deleted
  • lucky_jim 3 May 2009 20:54:07 5,277 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Resurrecting this thread as I really can't get my head around this stuff about codecs and containers and all that. If a file has its format listed as "H264 MPEG-4" but the codec listed as x264, any chance it'll play on my 360? Generally it's only stuff in mkv containers I can't get working, but I don't want to download a big file which is then useless to me (my creaking G4 Powerbook can't play hd video without dropping into stutter-o-vision).

    And yes, I did read the post which said x264 isn't a codec, unfortunately nobody seems to be able to clearly explain anywhere what's what, which is leaving me a bit bewildered. Can anyone help?
  • warlockuk 3 May 2009 21:01:34 19,142 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    You might be able to play it on a 360. Mine are all MKVs so I couldn't tell you...

    I'm a grumpy bastard.

  • Deleted user 3 May 2009 22:13:43
    Um, does that H264 thingy play on PS3? I didn't want to create a thread so asked in this one, like.
  • lucky_jim 3 May 2009 23:00:54 5,277 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Well the file in question didn't play on the 360 (at least, the sample didn't, which was enough for me to not bother with the full file). I think I've just gotta stay clear of anything with x264 written anywhere near it.

    Does anyone know a website with a good idiots guide to this kinda thing?
  • Deleted user 3 May 2009 23:14:12
    ta disc
  • Xerx3s 3 May 2009 23:16:41 23,944 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Tversity and any device will play anything.
  • Khanivor 3 May 2009 23:21:25 40,510 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    IF you can get Tversity to fucking work. Which, in my experience, it doesn't.

    My life has been so much easier since I just plugged the PC into my TV and amp. Nae fucking about.
  • ecureuil 3 May 2009 23:23:27 76,666 posts
    Seen 27 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Doesn't PS3MediaServer work with the 360 now? I thought the latest version offered support.
  • Xerx3s 3 May 2009 23:29:37 23,944 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    There are other solutions as well. Last time I checked there where about 4 or 5.
  • BravoGolf Moderator 3 May 2009 23:46:50 12,740 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Heh, old thread this :) I since then bought the excellent Popcorn Hour for all my HD goodness
  • Trowel 4 May 2009 00:23:15 17,543 posts
    Seen 48 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Khanivor wrote:
    IF you can get Tversity to fucking work. Which, in my experience, it doesn't.

    My life has been so much easier since I just plugged the PC into my TV and amp. Nae fucking about.
    I don't know why this advice isn't brought up sooner in all these streaming/container help threads. After years faffing about with streaming through XBMC, TVersity, Transcode, you name it, I just plugged my PC directly into my TV HDMI->HDMI and haven't had a single problem playing any file since.

    Keep It Simple Stupid.
  • Ryze 4 May 2009 00:54:05 3,123 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    morriss wrote:
    Gremmi wrote:
    If you have Media Centre, use Transcode 360.

    Gremmi.

    Ahhh. My colleague's software is widely used?
  • Khanivor 4 May 2009 01:08:49 40,510 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Yeah, even if you don't have your PC that near to the TV with the price of HDMI and TOSLINK cables as long as it's not at the other end of the house it's easy to do.

    Not to mention PC games on the TV...
  • Deleted user 4 May 2009 01:15:58
    This will help you convert mkvs so they work on the 360:

    http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/convert_mkv_to_mp4_for_xbox_360.cfm
  • Luvbeers 5 May 2009 16:04:01 918 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I use GotSent also. Works like a charm. Just open a 720p mkv (x264) and it extracts the h.264 video and audio and repackages as an .mp4 file which the 360 can play. Since it is just changing the container, it works quite fast compared to reencoding the whole file. Like a minute or two for a HD TV episode.
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply